People - All

Associate Professor
aldr@uw.edu / (206)685-4845 / GUG 415F
Office Hours: By appointment
Professional Master's Student
barkand@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
ebateman@uw.edu
Gasper Begus
Assistant Professor
begus@uw.edu / (206) 221-4031 / GUG 415H
Office Hours: We 12.30-1.30pm & by appt.
Graduate Student
mbenak@uw.edu
Photo of Emily M. Bender
Professor
GUG 414 C
Office Hours: Autumn 2019: (most) Thursdays 10-11 & (most) Fridays, 10:30-11:30
Graduate Student
ab58@uw.edu
Professional Masters Student
jimbb82@uw.edu
Professional Masters Alumnus
mblac6@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
elyeb@uw.edu
chad2.jpg
Computer Programmer Specialist
cbonny@uw.edu / (206) 934-1411 / Padelford B5L
Office Hours: By appointment
Professional Masters Student
jbruno@uw.edu
Maria Burgess
Program Coordinator
linguw@uw.edu / (206) 543-2046 / Guggenheim 414
Professional Master's Student
sophiayu@uw.edu
Professional Masters Student
zichang@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
amy17519@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
jchen96@uw.edu
Graduate Student
ceara@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
licor@uw.edu
Professor and Alternate Graduate Program Coordinator
bcitko@uw.edu / GUG 415C
Office Hours: Friday 9:30-10:30am and by appointment
Monica C. R. Cohn
Department Administrator
lingadmn@uw.edu / (206) 685-7467 / 414A
Office Hours: M/W 10:30-12:30. F 1-3:30
kirby
Lecturer
kconrod@uw.edu / 415F
Office Hours: Tuesday 10:30-11:30, Friday 1-2pm (or by appt)
Michael Cooper
ASL Lecturer
cooperm8@uw.edu / Guggenheim 406
Professional Master's Student
adods@uw.edu
Professional Masters Student
jrdodson@uw.edu
Professional Masters Alumnus
dellison@uw.edu
Professional Masters Alumnus
aelshen@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
akemrey@uw.edu
Alumnus
Senior Lecturer and ASL Language Director
lforshay@uw.edu / 206-452-0085 / GUG 406
Office Hours: 12:00-2:00 p.m. M-F
Professional Master's Student
clgansen@uw.edu
Graduate Student
erstgard@uw.edu
Ryan Georgi in front of Guggenheim Hall
PhD
rgeorgi@uw.edu / GUG 418-D
Office Hours: Wednesday, 12:30–2:30
Allison Germain photo
PhD Alumna
agermain@uw.edu
Office Hours: Abroad in Lithuania Autumn 2016 - Spring 2017
Professional Master's Student
yulug13@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
xg123@uw.edu
CLMS System Administrator
bmgraves@uw.edu / (206) 616-8034 / Padelford B5L
Professional Master's Alumnus
haobogu@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
mguerr20@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
agundog2@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
jothamg@uw.edu
Professional Masters Alumnus
mhaeger@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
levonh@uw.edu
Graduate Student
emilyho@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
jrhoff@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
huangs33@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
dj1121@uw.edu
Graduate Student
haritak5@uw.edu
Graduate Student
jmk45@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
cjaikim@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
harish@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
atkumar@uw.edu
Professional Master's Alumnus
kwlabuda@uw.edu
Graduate Student
hlepp@uw.edu
Graduate Student
liyin@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
shuo2019@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
liulu813@uw.edu
Graduate Student
longwill@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
sma528@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
dpm3@uw.edu
Linguistics Librarian
dcman@uw.edu / (206) 685-1446 / SUZ 139
Office Hours: By appointment - MTWTh
Senior Lecturer
lauramcg@uw.edu / (206) 685-3549 / GUG 418C
Office Hours: Winter 2020: MW 2:00-3:00p (and by appt)
Professional Master's Student
chmei@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
jesserme@uw.edu
Graduate Student
veljko@uw.edu
Graduate Student
elirnm@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
hmorri83@uw.edu
Graduate Student
rjmyhre@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
jimmyn94@uw.edu
Picture of David
Computing Specialist
mithreal@uw.edu
Office Hours: Wednesdays 9 - 10:30 or by appointment. Please email to arrange a meeting location.
Graduate Student
ndavidl@uw.edu
Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator
ogihara@uw.edu / GUG 415G
Office Hours: MW 3:30 - 4:30 (Winter 2018)
Professional Master's Student
sjou@uw.edu
Graduate Student
wpack@uw.edu
Jungyeul Park
Acting Assistant Professor
jungyeul@uw.edu / (206) 543-9764 / Guggenheim 418A
Academic Counselor
phoneme@uw.edu / 206-221-7415 / Guggenheim Hall Room 414A
Office Hours: 9:30am-5pm
Professional Master's Student
genevp@uw.edu
Graduate Student
thomphan@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
tevn@uw.edu
Graduate Student
wpresant@uw.edu
PhD Candidate
rolston@uw.edu / GUG 407, also available on Skype: LeanneRolston
Office Hours: Monday noon-1, Wednesday noon-1 (Pacific time), or by appointment.
Professional Master's Student
nsampath@uw.edu
Graduate Student
arunsen@uw.edu
Graduate Student
msshah2@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
saumyas@uw.edu
Graduate Student
ejsim@uw.edu
Graduate Student
sksca@uw.edu
Graduate Student
axspivey@uw.edu
Graduate Student
lstrunk@uw.edu
Yuanhe Tian
PhD Student
yhtian@uw.edu / GUG 407 / 417 (Treehouse)
Office Hours: Wednesday, 3:00 - 4:00 p.m.; Friday 10:00 - 11:00 a.m.
Professional Master's Student
cctien@uw.edu
Graduate Student
kvedder@uw.edu
Graduate Student
aventon@uw.edu
Graduate Student
yishuwei@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
xywu@uw.edu
Professor
fxia@uw.edu / (206) 543-9764 / Guggenheim 418A
Office Hours: 2:15-3:15pm on Thurs (in-person), 10-11am on Friday (remote via Canvas Conferences, only for ling570 students)
Professional Master's Student
youyunzh@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
xuhuizh@uw.edu
Professional Master's Student
haz060@uw.edu

Emeriti Faculty Members

Professor Emeritus
helesc@uw.edu
Professor Emerita
kaisse@uw.edu / (54)3-6004 / Guggenheim 415K
Office Hours: Spring 2018 Fridays 2-3:20 and by appointment
Professor Emeritus
jklaus@uw.edu
Research Professor Emerita
marinat@uw.edu
Karen Zagona
Professor Emerita
zagona@uw.edu / (206) 685-0979 / GUG 415-K
Office Hours: WTR 2020: Tues 1-3pm and by appointment

Adjunct Faculty Members

An Adjunct member in the Department of Linguistics is a person who holds a primary appointment in another department of the University. This appointment is intended to recognize the contributions to and mutual scholarship with the Department of Linguistics by such faculty members (e.g. serving on graduate committees, teaching cross-listed courses, collaborating on research).

Name Title Email / Phone Office
Bilaniuk, Laada M. Adjunct Professor bilaniuk@uw.edu
Bilmes, Jeffrey A. Adjunct Associate Professor bilmes@uw.edu
Dziwirek, Katarzyna A. Adjunct Professor dziwirek@uw.edu
Elkhafaifi, Hussein Adjunct Associate Professor hme3@uw.edu
Etzioni, Oren Adjunct Professor
Fernandez-Dobao, Ana Adjunct Associate Professor anadobao@uw.edu
Handel, Zev Adjunct Professor zhandel@uw.edu
Kirchhoff, Katrin Adjunct Research Associate Professor katrin@ee.washington.edu
Kuhl, Patricia K. Adjunct Professor pkkuhl@uw.edu
Ladner, Richard Adjunct Professor ladner@cs.washington.edu
Max, Ludo Adjunct Associate Professor ludomax@uw.edu
Moore, Collette Adjunct Assistant Professor cvmoore@uw.edu
Ohta, Amy Adjunct Associate Professor aohta@uw.edu
Ostendorf, Mari Adjunct Professor mo@ee.washington.edu
Osterhout, Lee E. Adjunct Professor losterho@uw.edu
Prat, Chantel Adjunct Associate Professor of Psychology csprat@uw.edu
Shapiro, Michael C. Adjunct Professor hindimcs@uw.edu
Silberstein, Sandra V. Adjunct Professor tq@uw.edu
Smith, Maya Adjunct Assistant Professor mayaas@uw.edu
Smith, Noah A. Adjunct Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering nasmith@cs.washington.edu
Stygall, Gail Adjunct Professor stygall@uw.edu
Tennis, Joseph Adjunct Associate Professor jtennis@uw.edu
Yetisgen, Meliha Adjunct Associate Professor melihay@uw.edu
Yue-Hashimoto, Anne O. Adjunct Professor anneyue@uw.edu
Zettlemoyer, Luke Adjunct Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Engineering lsz@cs.washington.edu CSE 658

Affiliate Faculty Members

Name Title Email / Phone
Aoki, Paul Affiliate Assistant Professor i5no8@u.washington.edu
Culicover, Peter Affiliate Professor culicove@uw.edu
Hoard, James Affiliate Professor
Khan, Jeremy Affiliate jeremy@trochee.net
Lewis, William Affiliate Assistant Professor wlewis2@uw.edu
Park, Eun Hae Affiliate Assistant Professor ehpark@uw.edu
Rozelle, Lorna Affiliate Assistant Professor rozelle@uw.edu
Sano, Kyoko Affiliate sano@uw.edu
Solti, Imre Affiliate Assistant Professor solti@uw.edu
Tjalve, Michael Affiliate Assistant Professor mtjalve@u.washington.edu
Toutanova, Kristina Affiliate Assistant Professor