People - A-Z Directory

Name Title Email / Phone Office Hours
Aldridge, Edith Associate Professor aldr@uw.edu
(206)685-4845
GUG 415F
By appointment
Aly, Ahmed Graduate Student ahhegazy@uw.edu
Anderson, Kenedy Graduate Student kander91@uw.edu
Arshad, Syed Graduate Student sarshad@uw.edu
Baer, Andrew Graduate Student baera4@uw.edu
Baligh, Abdelrahman Graduate Student abaligh@uw.edu
Behr, Stefan Graduate Student abehr@uw.edu
Belski, Steven Graduate Student sab047@uw.edu
Benak, Matthew D. Alumna mbenak@uw.edu
Bender, Emily M. Professor ebender@uw.edu GUG 418 B
Winter 2016: Thursdays 10:30-11:30, Fridays 9-10, and by appointment
Bennett, Kellianne Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student keb42@uw.edu GUG407
Winter 2015: TTh 8:30-9:30a
Blackburn, James Graduate Student jimbb82@uw.edu
Blum, Jason Graduate Student jason87@uw.edu
Bothale, Antariksh V. Graduate Student abothale@uw.edu
Braun, Florian Graduate Student braunf@uw.edu
Brodbeck, David Computing Staff brodbd@uw.edu GUG 406
Bryant, Cade Graduate Student chbryant@uw.edu
Burducea, Anca Graduate Student anca@uw.edu
Burrell, Alexandra Graduate Student burrella@uw.edu
Cabral, Alexandra Graduate Student acabral@uw.edu
Cadigan, John Graduate Student jcadigan@uw.edu
Calderwood, Matthew Graduate Student calderma@uw.edu
Cary, Elizabeth Graduate Student carye@uw.edu
Cason, Joshua Graduate Student casonj@uw.edu
Chang, Ernie Graduate Student cyc025@uw.edu
Chang, Zixiao Graduate Student zichang@uw.edu
Chartier, Nicole Research Assistant, Graduate Student chartn@uw.edu
Chen, Nick Graduate Student nickchen@uw.edu
Chong, Tristan E. Alumnus tristanc@uw.edu
Church, Joanna Graduate Student mnij525@uw.edu
Citko, Barbara Professor, Graduate Program Coordinator bcitko@uw.edu
Clark, Tara Graduate Student tclrk@uw.edu
Conrod, Kirby Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student kconrod@uw.edu
Contreras, Heles Professor Emeritus helesc@uw.edu
Cooper, George R. Graduate Student grcooper@uw.edu
Cooper, Michael Lecturer cooperm8@uw.edu Guggenheim 406
Curtis, Chris Graduate Student cmc3c@uw.edu
Curtis, Emily Lecturer, Alumna ecurtis@uw.edu
685-3549
Guggenheim 418C
Wednesdays, 10-11am
Dai, Wei Graduate Student daiw@uw.edu
DeJong, Amie Graduate Student acdejong@uw.edu
Dermer, Laurie Graduate Student ldermer@uw.edu
Dodson, John Graduate Student jrdodson@uw.edu
Elsawy, Eslam Graduate Student eslam@uw.edu
Elshenawy, Ahmad Khamis Graduate Student aelshen@uw.edu
Evans, Betsy Associate Professor evansbe@uw.edu 415D GUG
Fall quarter: 10-11AM Fridays and by appointment
FitzMorris, Molly Graduate Student mkfitz@uw.edu GUG 407
Forshay, Lance Lecturer lforshay@uw.edu
206-452-0085
GUG 406
11:30-1 p.m. M-F
Fox, Lauren Graduate Student laurenf@uw.edu
Frowein, Ruth E. Graduate Student ruthf@uw.edu
Furr, Michael Administrator furr@uw.edu
206-685-7467
414C Guggenheim Hall
8:00AM-4:45PM
Gahler, Brandon Graduate Student bjg6@uw.edu
Gale, Robert Graduate Student rcgale@uw.edu
Garnick, Eric Graduate Student egarnick@uw.edu
Georgi, Ryan Graduate Student rgeorgi@uw.edu
Germain, Allison Undergraduate Adviser, Graduate Student agermain@uw.edu
Goodman, Michael Wayne Graduate Student goodmami@uw.edu
Griggs, Nataliya Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student ngriggs@uw.edu
Guo, Qi Graduate Student qcg@uw.edu
Hargus, Sharon Professor sharon@uw.edu
(206) 685-4263
GUG 415J
by appt
Heath, Jeffrey Graduate Student jch65@uw.edu
Hermerding, Taylor Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student hermet@uw.edu GUG 407 #13
Herschensohn, Julia Chair, Professor herschen@uw.edu
206-685-2858
GUG 415-B
Thur 1-2, Fri 2-3, by appointment
Hogoboom, Norah Lynne Graduate Student norah@uw.edu
Horn, Martin Graduate Student mrtnhorn@uw.edu
Hoza, James Heinrich Graduate Student hhoza@uw.edu
Hsiung, Wei-Chieh Graduate Student allenwch@uw.edu
Hugo, Russell Graduate Student rlhugo@uw.du
Inman, David Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student davinman@uw.edu GUG 407 #14
Kaisse, Ellen Professor kaisse@uw.edu
(54)3-6004
Guggenheim 415K
2-3:30 Friday and by appointment
Kedziorski, Rik Graduate Student kedzior@uw.edu
Kincy, Karen Graduate Student kincyk@uw.edu
King, Katy Graduate Student katybeth@uw.edu
Klassen, Prescott Graduate Student klassp@uw.edu
Klausenburger, Jurgen Professor Emeritus jklaus@uw.edu
LaBuda, Kirk Graduate Student kwlabuda@uw.edu
Lalonde, Sarah Graduate Student lalondes@uw.edu
Lane, William Graduate Student wlane@uw.edu
LaTerza, Chris Graduate Student laterza@uw.edu
Le Grezause, Esther Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student elg1@uw.edu GUG 407
Monday 9:30-10:20am; Thursday 11:30-12:20pm
Levow, Gina-Anne Associate Professor levow@uw.edu
(206) 616-5728
GUG 418D
THU 12:30-1:30, FRI 1:30-2:30
Li, Yin Graduate Student liyin@uw.edu
Lish, Ryan Graduate Student rslish@uw.edu
Livingston, Andrew Graduate Student livings2@uw.edu
Lockwood, Michael Graduate Student lockwm@uw.edu
Loggins, Nathan Graduate Student nloggins@uw.edu GUG 407
Mak, Denise Graduate Student dpm3@uw.edu
Mandeville, Dan Librarian dcman@uw.edu
(206) 685-1446
SUZ 139
By appointment - MTWTh
Manlove (Langr), Katie Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student klangr@uw.edu Guggenheim 407
MW 2:30-3:30pm
Mansfield, Courtney Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student coman8@uw.edu
March, Thomas C. Graduate Student sugarork@uw.edu
503-580-3126
Marsh, Amy Graduate Student abmarsh@uw.edu
Martin, Ryan Graduate Student ryanm43@uw.edu
McCranie, John Graduate Student jtm37@uw.edu
McCullough, Elizabeth Research Staff emccullo@uw.edu Guggenheim 407A
Monday 1:30-3:00
McGarrity, Laura Lecturer lauramcg@uw.edu
(206) 685-3549
GUG 418C
Winter: T 11:30a-1:20p
McHugh, David M.S. Graduate Student dsmchugh@uw.edu
McLain, Jeremy Graduate Student jeremcla@uw.edu
Miljanic, Veljko Graduate Student veljko@uw.edu
Moroz, Anna Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student akmoroz@uw.edu
Morris, Spencer Graduate Student spencedm@uw.edu
Morrison, Ruth E. Graduate Student ruthem2@uw.edu
Mulvey, Joseph Graduate Student jmulvey5@uw.edu
Newmeyer, Frederick Professor Emeritus fjn@uw.edu
Nichols, David Computing Staff mithreal@uw.edu
Oganyan, Marina Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student marina0@uw.edu
Ogihara, Toshiyuki Associate Professor, Graduate Program Coordinator ogihara@uw.edu GUG 415G
MW 2:00 - 3:00 (Winter 2016)
Omaki, Akira Assistant Professor Joining UW Linguistics in July 2016
Oxley, Meghan Graduate Student what@uw.edu Johnson 065
Packard, Woodley Graduate Student wpack@uw.edu
Panfili, Laura Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student lpanfili@uw.edu GUG 407
By appointment
Parvi, Joyce Program Coordinator phoneme@uw.edu
206-543-2046
Guggenheim Hall Room 414
9am-5pm
Pearah, Roman Graduate Student rpearah@uw.edu
Perkins, Nate Graduate Student nperk@uw.edu
Peterson, Stephanie Graduate Student slp24@uw.edu
Phan, Thomas Graduate Student thomphan@uw.edu
Piepgrass, Kristen Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student kphowell@uw.edu
Preddy, Kathleen Graduate Student kpreddy@uw.edu
Preston, Laurel Graduate Student laurelpr@uw.edu
Princing, Anthony Graduate Student asp7991@uw.edu
Puthuval, Sarala Graduate Student puthuval@uw.edu Away in Inner Mongolia, China until Summer 2015.
Ramaswamy, Vinay Graduate Student vinayram@uw.edu
Rhine, Adam Graduate Student amrhine@uw.edu
Roday, Ethan Graduate Student erroday@uw.edu
Rolston, Leanne E. Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student rolston@uw.edu GUG 407, also available on Skype: LeanneRolston
Monday 2:00 - 3:00, Tuesday 10:00 - 11:00 Treehouse. Or by apointment
Roylance, Michael Graduate Student roylance@uw.edu
Rozelle, Lorna Lecturer rozelle@uw.edu Guggeheim 418C
Monday and Wednesday 12:30 to 1:20
Sano, Kyoko Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student sano@uw.edu
Scanlon, Michael Graduate Student ms27@uw.edu
Shintani, Kazuki Graduate Student kazukish@uw.edu
Simpson, Scott Graduate Student sksca@uw.edu
Slayden, Glenn Research Assistant, Graduate Student gslayden@uw.edu Mondays 2:30 GUG 407
Smith, Daniel Graduate Student dwsmith2@uw.edu
Stearns, Kayla Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student kaylas23@uw.edu
Sugar, Alec Graduate Student sugara@uw.edu
Sumner, Maria Graduate Student mcsumner@uw.edu
Surek-Clark, Clarissa Lecturer surekcla@uw.edu
206-303-9820
GUG 418C
Tuesdays 2-3pm or by appointment
Tarlinskaya, Marina Professor Emerita marinat@uw.edu
Tatman, Rachael Graduate Student rctatman@uw.edu
Tolliver, Micaela Graduate Student mictol42@uw.edu
Topping, Katherine Graduate Student
Van Anh, Yveline Graduate Student yvananh@uw.edu
Wang, Lauren Graduate Student laurwang@uw.edu
Wassink, Alicia Beckford Associate Professor wassink@uw.edu GUG 415
By appointment
Wei, Yi-Shu Graduate Student yishuwei@uw.edu
Westbrook, Zachary Graduate Student zwest@uw.edu
Whelan, Olga Graduate Student olgaw@uw.edu
White, James P. Graduate Student jimwhite@uw.edu
Wicke-Monteverde, Thor Graduate Student thorwm@uw.edu
Winter, Kristi Lecturer kwinter2@uw.edu
(206) 452-5745
GUG 406
1:30 pm - 2:30 pm on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays or by appointment
Wong, Edward Graduate Student edwardkw@uw.edu
Wonus, Kevin Graduate Student kwonus@uw.edu
Woo, Brent Graduate Student bwoo@uw.edu GUG 407
Wright, Richard Chair, Professor rawright@uw.edu
(206) 616-2426
GUG 414B
Xia, Fei Professor fxia@uw.edu
(206) 543-9764
Guggenheim 418A
2-3pm on Tues (in-person), noon-1pm on Wed (via skype)
Xue, Xiaosu Graduate Student xue4@uw.edu
Yip, Chak Lam Colum Graduate Student columyip@uw.edu GUG 407
By appointment
Zagona, Karen Professor zagona@uw.edu
(206) 685-0979
GUG 415H
11:30-12:20 and 1:30-2:20 Fridays and by appointment
Zamaraeva, Olga Teaching Associate, Graduate Student olzama@uw.edu
Zhang, Yuan Graduate Student yuanz80@uw.edu

Adjunct Faculty Members

An Adjunct member in the Department of Linguistics is a person who holds a primary appointment in another department of the University. This appointment is intended to recognize the contributions to and mutual scholarship with the Department of Linguistics by such faculty members (e.g. serving on graduate committees, teaching cross-listed courses, collaborating on research).

Name Title Email / Phone
Augerot, James E. Adjunct Professor
Barrack, Charles M. Adjunct Professor
Bilaniuk, Laada M. Adjunct Associate Professor
Bilmes, Jeffrey A. Adjunct Associate Professor
Dziwirek, Katarzyna A. Adjunct Professor
Elkhafaifi, Hussein Adjunct Associate Professor
Etzioni, Oren Adjunct Professor
Fernandez-Dobao, Ana Adjunct Assistant Professor
Handel, Zev Adjunct Associate Professor
Kirchhoff, Katrin Adjunct Research Associate Professor
Kuhl, Patricia K. Adjunct Professor
Ladner, Richard Adjunct Professor
Moore, Collette Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ohta, Amy Adjunct Associate Professor
Ostendorf, Mari Adjunct Professor
Osterhout, Lee E. Adjunct Professor
Shapiro, Michael C. Adjunct Professor
Silberstein, Sandra V. Adjunct Professor
Stygall, Gail Adjunct Professor
Tennis, Joseph Adjunct Associate Professor
Yetisgen-Yildiz, Meliha Adjunct Assistant Professor
Yue-Hashimoto, Anne O. Adjunct Professor
Zettlemoyer, Luke Adjunct Assistant Professor

Affiliate Faculty Members

Name Title Email / Phone
Aoki, Paul Affiliate Assistant Professor
Hoard, James Affiliate Professor
Lewis, William Affiliate Assistant Professor
Solti, Imre Affiliate Assistant Professor
Tjalve, Michael Affiliate Assistant Professor
Toutanova, Kristina Affiliate Assistant Professor