People - A-Z Directory

Name Title Email / Phone Office Hours
Ahmed, Sofia Yasmeen Graduate Student, CLMS Student syahmed@uw.edu
Ahn, Emily Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student eahn@uw.edu
Albitz, Marla Graduate Student, CLMS Student malbitz@uw.edu
Aldridge, Edith Associate Professor aldr@uw.edu GUG 415F
By appointment
Barnes, Megan Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student mrbarnes@uw.edu GUG 407
Benak, Matthew D. Alumnus mbenak@uw.edu
Bender, Emily M. Professor see-my@webpage.edu GUG 414 C
Autumn 2020: (most) Wednesdays 4:30-5:30 & (most) Thursdays, 9-10 (email for Zoom link)
Bhavan, Anjali Graduate Student, CLMS Student ab1998@uw.edu
Bliss, Elye Graduate Student, CLMS Student elyeb@uw.edu
Bonny, Chad Computing Staff cbonny@uw.edu
(206) 934-1411
Padelford B5L
By appointment
Bowers, Will Graduate Student, CLMS Student bowerw2@uw.edu
Boyle, Connor Graduate Student, CLMS Student boyle128@uw.edu
Brown, Devin Graduate Student, CLMS Student devinjb@uw.edu
Bruno, James V Graduate Student, CLMS Student jbruno@uw.edu
Burgess, Misha Program Coordinator linguw@uw.edu
(206) 543-2046
Guggenheim 414
Campos, Daniel CLMS Student dacampos@uw.edu
4152729964
Chang, Anastasia Jing Graduate Student, CLMS Student jing1016@uw.edu
Chang, Sophia CLMS Student sophiayu@uw.edu
Chang, Zixiao Graduate Student, CLMS Student zichang@uw.edu
Chen, Amy (Tzu-Yu) Graduate Student, CLMS Student amy17519@uw.edu
Chen, Connie Graduate Student, CLMS Student conchen@uw.edu
Cheng, Qi Assistant Professor qicheng2@uw.edu By appointment
Chong, Tristan E. Alumnus tristanc@uw.edu
Chopde, Atharva Graduate Student, CLMS Student atharvac@uw.edu
Chuanrong, Li Graduate Student, CLMS Student licor@uw.edu
Ciaglo, Benjamin Graduate Student, CLMS Student bciagl@uw.edu
Citko, Barbara Professor, Graduate Program Coordinator bcitko@uw.edu GUG 415C
Friday 9:30-10:30am and by appointment
Cohn, Monica C. R. Administrator lingadmn@uw.edu
(206) 685-7467
414A
Conrad, Elizabeth Graduate Student, CLMS Student ecconrad@uw.edu
Conrod, Kirby Lecturer kconrod@uw.edu REMOTE
By Zoom
Contreras, Heles Professor Emeritus helesc@uw.edu
Davis, Niticon Graduate Student, CLMS Student niticon@uw.edu
Deaton, Ella Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student edeaton@uw.edu
Dhungana, Gita Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student gitad@uw.edu
Ding, Susie Graduate Student, CLMS Student hsding99@uw.edu
Dodds, Kim Graduate Student, CLMS Student kimdodds@uw.edu
Dods, Allison CLMS Student adods@uw.edu
Downey, C.M. Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student cmdowney@uw.edu GUG 407
Drizin, Shannon Graduate Student, CLMS Student sdrizin@uw.edu
Durham, Isabel Graduate Student, CLMS Student isadu@uw.edu
Evans, Betsy Associate Professor evansbe@uw.edu 415D GUG
Ferjan Ramírez, Naja Assistant Professor naja@uw.edu
(206) 543-4503
Guggenheim 415B
M: 8:30-9:20 or by appointment. Please email for a Zoom link.
Finkelstein, Paige Graduate Student, CLMS Student plfink@uw.edu
Forrester, Richard Graduate Student, CLMS Student raf2936@uw.edu
Forshay, Lance Associate Teaching Professor lforshay@uw.edu
206-452-0085
GUG 406
12:00-2:00 p.m. M-F
Georgi, Ryan Lecturer, Alumnus rgeorgi@uw.edu
Gokcen, Ajda Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student ajdag@uw.edu GUG 407
MW 1:20p-2:20p
Gong, Glen (Yulu) Graduate Student, CLMS Student yulug13@uw.edu
Grant, Xena CLMS Student xg123@uw.edu
Graves, Brandon Computing Staff bmgraves@uw.edu
(206) 616-8034
Padelford B5L
Guinard, Theresa Graduate Student, CLMS Student thegui@uw.edu
Gundogdu, Kadir (Abdulkadir) Graduate Student, CLMS Student agundog2@uw.edu
Guo, Yuqing Graduate Student, CLMS Student yu922@uw.edu
Gupta, Sarah Graduate Student, CLMS Student sgupta8@uw.edu
Hargus, Sharon Professor sharon@uw.edu
(206) 685-4263
GUG 415J
By appointment
Haroutunian, Levon Graduate Student, CLMS Student levonh@uw.edu
Herschensohn, Julia Professor Emerita herschen@uw.edu
206-685-2858
GUG 415-K
By appointment
Ho, Emily Graduate Student, CLMS Student emilyho@uw.edu
Horst, Martin Graduate Student, CLMS Student mmhorst@uw.edu
Huang, Jiahui Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student huangjh@uw.edu
Huang, Sicong Graduate Student, CLMS Student huangs33@uw.edu
Hunter, Chelsea Graduate Student, CLMS Student cah19@uw.edu
Imel, Nathaniel Graduate Student, CLMS Student nimel@uw.edu
Jensen, Monica Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student mojen@uw.edu
Johnson, Devin Graduate Student, CLMS Student dj1121@uw.edu
Jones, Benjamin Research Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student jonesb28@uw.edu
Kaisse, Ellen Professor Emeritus kaisse@uw.edu
(54)3-6004
Guggenheim 415K
Spring 2018 Fridays 2-3:20 and by appointment
Karamali, Saiya Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student karamali@uw.edu
Kavouras, Christian Graduate Student, CLMS Student cdkavour@uw.edu
Keane, Shannon Graduate Student, CLMS Student skeane@uw.edu
Khasanova, Elena Graduate Student, CLMS Student ekhas1@uw.edu
Kim, Cody Graduate Student, CLMS Student cjaikim@uw.edu
Klausenburger, Jurgen Professor Emeritus jklaus@uw.edu
Kodama, Zane Graduate Student, CLMS Student kodamaz@uw.edu
Kukreja, Kunal Rajesh Graduate Student, CLMS Student kkukreja@uw.edu
Kumar, Vikash Graduate Student, CLMS Student vikas134@uw.edu
Kye, Ted Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student tkye29@uw.edu
(206) 390-4585
GUG407
Lapastora, Andy Graduate Student, CLMS Student awlapas@uw.edu
Levow, Gina-Anne Associate Professor levow@uw.edu
(206) 616-5728
GUG 418B
Wednesdays 2:30-3:20
Lian, Zhongwen Graduate Student, CLMS Student zlian@uw.edu
+86 1561157741
Lim, Ian Graduate Student, CLMS Student ianclim9@uw.edu
Lin, Jih-neng Graduate Student, CLMS Student jnenglin@uw.edu
Lin, Shengshuo Graduate Student, CLMS Student shuo2019@uw.edu
Lindekugel, Katie Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student kl17@uw.edu
Liu, Lu CLMS Student liulu813@uw.edu
Liu, Tianran Graduate Student, CLMS Student tianranl@uw.edu
Loggins, Nathan Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student nloggins@uw.edu GUG 407
Longwill, Benny Graduate Student, CLMS Student longwill@uw.edu
Lowy, Rachel Graduate Student, CLMS Student rlowy@uw.edu
Mandeville, Dan Librarian dcman@uw.edu working from home in Tacoma, WA
On leave Autumn 2020; schedule with another librarian below
Manrique, Isaac Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student imanriq@uw.edu
Mansfield, Courtney Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student coman8@uw.edu GUG 407
By Appointment
Martins, Dolapo Graduate Student, CLMS Student dmartins@uw.edu
Mathis, Dan Assistant Teaching Professor dvmasl@uw.edu (*please email to make an online chat appointment)
Maz, Cassie Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student cassam5@uw.edu
McCausland, Juliana Graduate Student, CLMS Student jumc1469@uw.edu
McGarrity, Laura Associate Teaching Professor lauramcg@uw.edu
(206) 685-3549
GUG 418C
Fall 2020: WF 1:00-2:00p (online)
McMillan-Major, Angelina Y Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student aymm@uw.edu DEN 120
Mei, Chih Hsuan Graduate Student, CLMS Student chmei@uw.edu
Mena, Jesse CLMS Student jesserme@uw.edu
Michels, Sam Graduate Student, CLMS Student jsm33@uw.edu
Miljanic, Veljko Graduate Student, CLMS Student veljko@uw.edu
Miller, Eli R N Graduate Student elirnm@uw.edu
Mirand-Vidaurre, Anthony Graduate Student, CLMS Student amirand@uw.edu
Mohan, Preeti Graduate Student, CLMS Student preetmhn@uw.edu
Moroz, Anna Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student akmoroz@uw.edu
Morrison, Heather Graduate Student, CLMS Student hmorri83@uw.edu
Munger, Laura Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student mungerla@uw.edu
Nayak, Simola Graduate Student, CLMS Student simnayak@uw.edu
Newmeyer, Frederick Professor Emeritus fjn@uw.edu
Nezakati, Hanieh Graduate Student, CLMS Student nezakati@uw.edu
Ng, Sara Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student sbng@uw.edu Room 407 #24
Monday, Friday 3:30-4:30 PST
Nguyen, Jimmy Graduate Student, CLMS Student jimmyn94@uw.edu
Nichols, David Computing Staff mithreal@uw.edu Wednesdays 9 - 10:30 or by appointment. Please email to arrange a meeting location.
Nielsen, David Graduate Student, CLMS Student ndavidl@uw.edu
Nollette, Joseph Graduate Student, CLMS Student nollejos@uw.edu
Oganyan, Marina Postdoc marina0@uw.edu
Ogihara, Toshiyuki Professor, Graduate Program Coordinator ogihara@uw.edu GUG 415G
MW 3:30 - 4:30 (Winter 2018)
Ou, Shu CLMS Student sjou@uw.edu
Packard, Woodley Graduate Student wpack@uw.edu
Pai, Avani Graduate Student, CLMS Student apai3@uw.edu
Parvi, Joyce Program Coordinator phoneme@uw.edu
206-221-7415
Teleworking due to COVID-19
8:30am-5pm
Paullada, Amandalynne Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student paullada@uw.edu
Pendleton, Rosy Hanako Graduate Student, CLMS Student rpendlet@uw.edu
Peterson, Stephanie Graduate Student, CLMS Student slp24@uw.edu
Phan, Thomas Graduate Student, CLMS Student thomphan@uw.edu
Powers, Tev'n Graduate Student, CLMS Student tevn@uw.edu
Presant, William Graduate Student, CLMS Student wpresant@uw.edu
Ravichandra, Ritika Graduate Student, CLMS Student ritzjwa@uw.edu
Reid, Sarah Graduate Student, CLMS Student sarahnr@uw.edu
Ressler, Timothy Graduate Student, CLMS Student resslert@uw.edu
Rolston, Leanne E. Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student rolston@uw.edu GUG 407, also available on Skype: LeanneRolston
Monday noon-1, Wednesday noon-1 (Pacific time), or by appointment.
Rose, Wesley Graduate Student, CLMS Student warose91@uw.edu
(970) 691-4362
Rozelle, Lorna Lecturer rozelle@uw.edu
Sanders, Kevin Graduate Student, CLMS Student kevsan@uw.edu
Sano, Kyoko Lecturer, Alumna sano@uw.edu
(425)785-5505
Remote
Tue/Thu 3:30-4:30 pm
Scanlon, Michael Graduate Student ms27@uw.edu
Schoener, Peter CLMS Student schoener@uw.edu
Scott, Michael Graduate Student, CLMS Student mkscott@uw.edu
Sen, Arunachal J Graduate Student, CLMS Student arunsen@uw.edu
Shah, Marina Graduate Student msshah2@uw.edu
Shah, Saumya Graduate Student, CLMS Student saumyahs@uw.edu
Shapiro, Naomi Tachikawa Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student tsnaomi@uw.edu
Sharma, Divy Graduate Student, CLMS Student divy@uw.edu
Shen, Peter Graduate Student, CLMS Student yinshen6@uw.edu
Sheth, Kaveri Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student ksheth2@uw.edu
Shi, Mickey Graduate Student, CLMS Student bigmigs@uw.edu
Shuai, Zoe Graduate Student, CLMS Student zoeshuai@uw.edu
Sim, Erica J Graduate Student ejsim@uw.edu
Simpson, Katya Graduate Student, CLMS Student katya42@uw.edu
Simpson, Scott Graduate Student sksca@uw.edu
Singh, Manisha Graduate Student, CLMS Student manishas@uw.edu
Smith, Christina Graduate Student, CLMS Student csmith79@uw.edu
Soesanto, Vincent J Graduate Student, CLMS Student vsoes@uw.edu
Spivey, Alex Graduate Student axspivey@uw.edu
Squizzero, Rob Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student rsquizz@uw.edu
Steinert-Threlkeld, Shane Assistant Professor shanest@uw.edu
(206) 616-0997
Guggenheim 418D
Tuesday, 2:30-4:30PM
Su, Dongqi Graduate Student, CLMS Student sudongqi@uw.edu
Sweeney, Jessica Graduate Student, CLMS Student js20@uw.edu
Tampakis, Nikitas Graduate Student, CLMS Student tampakis@uw.edu
Tanner, Joshua Graduate Student, CLMS Student jotanner@uw.edu
Tarlinskaya, Marina Professor Emerita marinat@uw.edu
Thompson, Bryan Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student bkthomp@uw.edu
Thukral, Shivin Graduate Student, CLMS Student shivin7@uw.edu
Tian, Yuanhe Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student yhtian@uw.edu GUG 407 / 417 (Treehouse)
Tien, Chih-Chan CLMS Student cctien@uw.edu
Tripi, Ross Graduate Student, CLMS Student rtripi@uw.edu
Tseng, Emma Graduate Student, CLMS Student eftseng@uw.edu
Tu, Yaa-Lirng Graduate Student, CLMS Student lingtu@uw.edu
(908)698-2730
Ukasick, Trent Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student tukasick@uw.edu
Venton, Amina Graduate Student, CLMS Student aventon@uw.edu
Wada, Tsudoi Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student tsudoiw@uw.edu
Wang, Shunjie Graduate Student, CLMS Student shunjiew@uw.edu
Wang, Zhilin Graduate Student, CLMS Student zhilinw@uw.edu
Wassink, Alicia Beckford Associate Professor wassink@uw.edu GUG 415
By appointment
Wei, Yi-Shu Graduate Student yishuwei@uw.edu
Wilcoxson, Samantha Graduate Student, CLMS Student swilco@uw.edu
Willborn, Jane Graduate Student, CLMS Student iamjane@uw.edu
Willrich, Clevis Graduate Student, CLMS Student willrich@uw.edu
Winter, Kristi Assistant Teaching Professor kwinter2@uw.edu GUG 406
By appointment
Wright, Richard Chair, Professor rawright@uw.edu
(206) 616-2426
GUG 414B
By appointment
Wu, Gregory (Meng-Chen) Graduate Student, CLMS Student mengw9@uw.edu
Xia, Fei Professor fxia@uw.edu
(206) 543-9764
Guggenheim 418A
2:15-3:15pm on Thurs (in-person), 10-11am on Friday (remote via Canvas Conferences, only for ling570 students)
Xu, Yuanbo Graduate Student, CLMS Student yuanboxu@uw.edu
(443)2487341
Yan, Xu Graduate Student, CLMS Student xyan3@uw.edu
2062148286
Yeditha, Meheresh Sai Graduate Student, CLMS Student myeditha@uw.edu
Zagona, Karen Professor, Professor Emerita zagona@uw.edu
(206) 685-0979
GUG 415-K
WTR 2020: Tues 1-3pm and by appointment
Zamaraeva, Olga Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student olzama@uw.edu GUG407 desk 26
Thursdays 11 am - 12 pm
Zhang, Youyun CLMS Student youyunzh@uw.edu
Zhao, Jianqiao Graduate Student, CLMS Student zhaojq@uw.edu
Zhou, Xuhui Graduate Student, CLMS Student xuhuizh@uw.edu
Zhu, Haotian Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student haz060@uw.edu

Adjunct Faculty Members

An Adjunct member in the Department of Linguistics is a person who holds a primary appointment in another department of the University. This appointment is intended to recognize the contributions to and mutual scholarship with the Department of Linguistics by such faculty members (e.g. serving on graduate committees, teaching cross-listed courses, collaborating on research).

Name Title Email / Phone Office
Bilaniuk, Laada M. Adjunct Professor bilaniuk@uw.edu
Bilmes, Jeffrey A. Adjunct Professor bilmes@uw.edu
Dziwirek, Katarzyna A. Adjunct Professor dziwirek@uw.edu
Elkhafaifi, Hussein Adjunct Associate Professor hme3@uw.edu
Fernandez-Dobao, Ana Adjunct Associate Professor anadobao@uw.edu
Handel, Zev Adjunct Professor zhandel@uw.edu
Kirchhoff, Katrin Adjunct Research Associate Professor katrin@ee.washington.edu
Kuhl, Patricia K. Adjunct Professor pkkuhl@uw.edu
Ladner, Richard Adjunct Professor ladner@cs.washington.edu
Max, Ludo Adjunct Professor ludomax@uw.edu
Moore, Collette Adjunct Assistant Professor cvmoore@uw.edu
Ohta, Amy Adjunct Associate Professor aohta@uw.edu
Ostendorf, Mari Adjunct Professor mo@ee.washington.edu
Osterhout, Lee E. Adjunct Professor losterho@uw.edu
Prat, Chantel Adjunct Associate Professor of Psychology csprat@uw.edu
Smith, Maya Adjunct Assistant Professor mayaas@uw.edu
Smith, Noah A. Adjunct Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering nasmith@cs.washington.edu
Stygall, Gail Adjunct Professor stygall@uw.edu
Tennis, Joseph Adjunct Associate Professor jtennis@uw.edu
Yetisgen, Meliha Adjunct Associate Professor melihay@uw.edu
Zettlemoyer, Luke Adjunct Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Engineering lsz@cs.washington.edu CSE 658

Affiliate Faculty Members

Name Title Email / Phone Office
Aoki, Paul Affiliate Assistant Professor i5no8@u.washington.edu
Culicover, Peter Affiliate Professor culicove@uw.edu
Hoard, James Affiliate Professor
Khan, Jeremy Affiliate jeremy@trochee.net
Lewis, William Affiliate Assistant Professor wlewis2@uw.edu
Park, Eun Hae Affiliate Assistant Professor ehpark@uw.edu
Park, Jungyeul Affiliate Assistant Professor jungyeul@uw.edu
(206) 543-9764
Guggenheim 418A
Song, Yan Affiliate Assistant Professor yansong@uw.edu
Tjalve, Michael Affiliate Assistant Professor mtjalve@u.washington.edu
Toutanova, Kristina Affiliate Assistant Professor

In Memoriam

Name Title
Omaki, Akira Assistant Professor