People - A-Z Directory

Name Title Email / Phone Office Hours
Ahn, Emily Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student eahn@uw.edu
Albitz, Marla Graduate Student, CLMS Student malbitz@uw.edu
Aldridge, Edith Associate Professor aldr@uw.edu
(206)685-4845
GUG 415F
By appointment
Barker, Drew Gordon Graduate Student, CLMS Student barkand@uw.edu
Barnes, Megan Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student mrbarnes@uw.edu GUG 407
Bateman, Emma CLMS Student ebateman@uw.edu
Beguš, Gašper Assistant Professor begus@uw.edu
(206) 221-4031
GUG 415H
We 12.30-1.30pm & by appt.
Benak, Matthew D. Alumnus mbenak@uw.edu
Bender, Emily M. Professor GUG 414 C
Spring 2020: (most) Thursdays 10-11 & (most) Fridays, 10:30-11:30 (email for Zoom link)
Blackburn, James Graduate Student, CLMS Student jimbb82@uw.edu
Bliss, Elye Graduate Student, CLMS Student elyeb@uw.edu
Bonny, Chad Computing Staff cbonny@uw.edu
(206) 934-1411
Padelford B5L
By appointment
Bruno, James V Graduate Student, CLMS Student jbruno@uw.edu
Burgess, Misha Program Coordinator linguw@uw.edu
(206) 543-2046
Guggenheim 414
Campos, Daniel CLMS Student dacampos@uw.edu
4152729964
Chang, Sophia CLMS Student sophiayu@uw.edu
Chang, Zixiao Graduate Student, CLMS Student zichang@uw.edu
Chartier, Nicole Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student chartn@uw.edu
Chen, Amy (Tzu-Yu) Graduate Student, CLMS Student amy17519@uw.edu
Chen, Jiani CLMS Student jchen96@uw.edu
Chong, Tristan E. Alumnus tristanc@uw.edu
Chuanrong, Li Graduate Student, CLMS Student licor@uw.edu
Citko, Barbara Professor, Graduate Program Coordinator bcitko@uw.edu GUG 415C
Friday 9:30-10:30am and by appointment
Cohn, Monica C. R. Administrator lingadmn@uw.edu
(206) 685-7467
414A
M/W 10:30-12:30. F 1-3:30
Conrad, Elizabeth Graduate Student, CLMS Student ecconrad@uw.edu
Conrod, Kirby Lecturer kconrod@uw.edu 415F
By Zoom
Contreras, Heles Professor Emeritus helesc@uw.edu
Davis, Niticon Graduate Student, CLMS Student niticon@uw.edu
Deaton, Ella Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student edeaton@uw.edu
Dodds, Kim Graduate Student, CLMS Student kimdodds@uw.edu
Dods, Allison CLMS Student adods@uw.edu
Dodson, John Graduate Student, CLMS Student jrdodson@uw.edu
Downey, C.M. Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student cmdowney@uw.edu GUG 407
Du, Wendy Graduate Student, CLMS Student duw1@uw.edu
Emrey, Abigail CLMS Student akemrey@uw.edu
Evans, Betsy Associate Professor evansbe@uw.edu 415D GUG
Ferjan Ramírez, Naja Assistant Professor naja@uw.edu
(206) 543-4503
Guggenheim 415B
M, F: 1:30-2:20
Finkelstein, Paige Graduate Student, CLMS Student plfink@uw.edu
Forshay, Lance Lecturer lforshay@uw.edu
206-452-0085
GUG 406
12:00-2:00 p.m. M-F
Gansen, Cady Graduate Student, CLMS Student clgansen@uw.edu
Gardner, Erica Graduate Student, CLMS Student erstgard@uw.edu
Gioannini, Jesse CLMS Student jessegio@uw.edu
5754050696
Gokcen, Ajda Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student ajdag@uw.edu GUG 407
MW 1:20p-2:20p
Gong, Glen (Yulu) Graduate Student, CLMS Student yulug13@uw.edu
Grant, Xena CLMS Student xg123@uw.edu
Graves, Brandon Computing Staff bmgraves@uw.edu
(206) 616-8034
Padelford B5L
Guerrero, Mikaela Graduate Student, CLMS Student mguerr20@uw.edu
Guinard, Theresa Graduate Student, CLMS Student thegui@uw.edu
Gundogdu, Kadir (Abdulkadir) Graduate Student, CLMS Student agundog2@uw.edu
Gunn, Jotham Graduate Student, CLMS Student jothamg@uw.edu
Gupta, Sarah Graduate Student, CLMS Student sgupta8@uw.edu
Hargus, Sharon Professor sharon@uw.edu
(206) 685-4263
GUG 415J
By appointment
Haroutunian, Levon Graduate Student, CLMS Student levonh@uw.edu
Henderson, Michael Graduate Student, CLMS Student mhender@uw.edu
Herschensohn, Julia Professor Emerita herschen@uw.edu
206-685-2858
GUG 415-K
By appointment
Ho, Emily Graduate Student, CLMS Student emilyho@uw.edu
Hoffman, Jacob Graduate Student, CLMS Student jrhoff@uw.edu
Horst, Martin Graduate Student, CLMS Student mmhorst@uw.edu
Howell, Kristen Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student kphowell@uw.edu
Hoza, James Heinrich Graduate Student, CLMS Student hhoza@uw.edu
Huang, Jiahui Undergraduate Adviser, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student huangjh@uw.edu
Huang, Sicong Graduate Student, CLMS Student huangs33@uw.edu
Hwang, Chang Ho Lecturer chwang7@uw.edu Guggenheim 406
Jensen, Monica Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student mojen@uw.edu
Johnson, Devin Graduate Student, CLMS Student dj1121@uw.edu
Jones, Benjamin Research Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student jonesb28@uw.edu
Kaisse, Ellen Professor Emeritus kaisse@uw.edu
(54)3-6004
Guggenheim 415K
Spring 2018 Fridays 2-3:20 and by appointment
Kannan, Harita Graduate Student, CLMS Student haritak5@uw.edu
Khasanova, Elena Graduate Student, CLMS Student ekhas1@uw.edu
Kim, Cody Graduate Student, CLMS Student cjaikim@uw.edu
Klausenburger, Jurgen Professor Emeritus jklaus@uw.edu
Kulkarni, Harish Graduate Student, CLMS Student harish@uw.edu
Kumar, Anish Graduate Student, CLMS Student atkumar@uw.edu
Kumar, Vikash Graduate Student, CLMS Student vikas134@uw.edu
Kye, Ted Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student tkye29@uw.edu
(206) 390-4585
GUG407
Lepp, Haley Graduate Student, CLMS Student hlepp@uw.edu
Levow, Gina-Anne Associate Professor levow@uw.edu
(206) 616-5728
GUG 418B
Wednesdays 2:30-3:20
Lin, Shengshuo Graduate Student, CLMS Student shuo2019@uw.edu
Liu, Lu CLMS Student liulu813@uw.edu
Loessberg-Zahl, Alexandra CLMS Student lexilz@uw.edu
Loggins, Nathan Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student nloggins@uw.edu GUG 407
Longwill, Benny Graduate Student, CLMS Student longwill@uw.edu
Lowy, Rachel Graduate Student, CLMS Student rlowy@uw.edu
Ma, Suiliang CLMS Student sma528@uw.edu
Mak, Denise P Graduate Student, CLMS Student dpm3@uw.edu
Mandeville, Dan Librarian dcman@uw.edu
(206) 685-1446
SUZ 139
By appointment - MTWTh
Manrique, Isaac Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student imanriq@uw.edu
Mansfield, Courtney Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student coman8@uw.edu GUG 407
By Appointment
Martinez, Marcus CLMS Student marcusgm@uw.edu
McGarrity, Laura Lecturer lauramcg@uw.edu
(206) 685-3549
GUG 418C
Winter 2020: MW 2:00-3:00p (and by appt)
McMillan-Major, Angelina Y Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student aymm@uw.edu DEN 120
Mei, Chih Hsuan Graduate Student, CLMS Student chmei@uw.edu
Mena, Jesse CLMS Student jesserme@uw.edu
Miljanic, Veljko Graduate Student, CLMS Student veljko@uw.edu
Miller, Eli R N Graduate Student elirnm@uw.edu
Mirand-Vidaurre, Anthony Graduate Student, CLMS Student amirand@uw.edu
Mohan, Preeti Graduate Student, CLMS Student preetmhn@uw.edu
Moroz, Anna Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student akmoroz@uw.edu
Morrison, Heather Graduate Student, CLMS Student hmorri83@uw.edu
Munger, Laura Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student mungerla@uw.edu
Nayak, Simola Graduate Student, CLMS Student simnayak@uw.edu
Newmeyer, Frederick Professor Emeritus fjn@uw.edu
Ng, Sara Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student sbng@uw.edu Room 407 #24
Nguyen, Jimmy Graduate Student, CLMS Student jimmyn94@uw.edu
Nichols, David Computing Staff mithreal@uw.edu Wednesdays 9 - 10:30 or by appointment. Please email to arrange a meeting location.
Nielsen, David Graduate Student, CLMS Student ndavidl@uw.edu
Oganyan, Marina Postdoc marina0@uw.edu
Ogihara, Toshiyuki Professor, Graduate Program Coordinator ogihara@uw.edu GUG 415G
MW 3:30 - 4:30 (Winter 2018)
Ou, Shu CLMS Student sjou@uw.edu
Packard, Woodley Graduate Student wpack@uw.edu
Park, Jungyeul Visiting Faculty jungyeul@uw.edu
(206) 543-9764
Guggenheim 418A
Parvi, Joyce Program Coordinator phoneme@uw.edu
206-221-7415
Guggenheim Hall Room 414A
9:30am-5pm
Paullada, Amandalynne Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student paullada@uw.edu
Peaslee, Genevieve Graduate Student, CLMS Student genevp@uw.edu
Peterson, Stephanie Graduate Student, CLMS Student slp24@uw.edu
Phan, Thomas Graduate Student, CLMS Student thomphan@uw.edu
Powers, Tev'n Graduate Student, CLMS Student tevn@uw.edu
Presant, William Graduate Student, CLMS Student wpresant@uw.edu
Rolston, Leanne E. Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student rolston@uw.edu GUG 407, also available on Skype: LeanneRolston
Monday noon-1, Wednesday noon-1 (Pacific time), or by appointment.
Rose, Wesley Graduate Student, CLMS Student warose91@uw.edu
(970) 691-4362
Sampath, Nitya Graduate Student, CLMS Student nsampath@uw.edu
Sanders, Kevin Graduate Student, CLMS Student kevsan@uw.edu
Scanlon, Michael Graduate Student ms27@uw.edu
Schoener, Peter CLMS Student schoener@uw.edu
Sen, Arunachal J Graduate Student, CLMS Student arunsen@uw.edu
Shah, Marina Graduate Student msshah2@uw.edu
Shah, Saumya Graduate Student, CLMS Student saumyas@uw.edu
Shapiro, Naomi Tachikawa Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student tsnaomi@uw.edu
Sim, Erica J Graduate Student ejsim@uw.edu
Simpson, Scott Graduate Student sksca@uw.edu
Soesanto, Vincent J Graduate Student, CLMS Student vsoes@uw.edu
Spivey, Alex Graduate Student axspivey@uw.edu
Squizzero, Rob Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student rsquizz@uw.edu
Steinert-Threlkeld, Shane Assistant Professor shanest@uw.edu
(206) 616-0997
Guggenheim 418D
Tuesday, 2:30-4:30PM
Strunk, Lonny Graduate Student, CLMS Student lstrunk@uw.edu
Tampakis, Nikitas Graduate Student, CLMS Student tampakis@uw.edu
Tanner, Joshua Graduate Student, CLMS Student jotanner@uw.edu
Tarlinskaya, Marina Professor Emerita marinat@uw.edu
Thompson, Bryan Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student bkthomp@uw.edu
Tian, Yuanhe Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student yhtian@uw.edu GUG 407 / 417 (Treehouse)
Tien, Chih-Chan CLMS Student cctien@uw.edu
Tomasic, Erik Graduate Student, CLMS Student etomasic@uw.edu
(224) 330-5041
Tripi, Ross Graduate Student, CLMS Student rtripi@uw.edu
Tsaih, Marilyn Graduate Student, CLMS Student mtsaih@uw.edu
Ukasick, Trent Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student tukasick@uw.edu
Venton, Amina Graduate Student, CLMS Student aventon@uw.edu
Wada, Tsudoi Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student tsudoiw@uw.edu
Wang, Shunjie Graduate Student, CLMS Student shunjiew@uw.edu
Wassink, Alicia Beckford Associate Professor wassink@uw.edu GUG 415
By appointment
Wei, Yi-Shu Graduate Student yishuwei@uw.edu
Wilcoxson, Samantha Graduate Student, CLMS Student swilco@uw.edu
Winter, Kristi Lecturer kwinter2@uw.edu GUG 406
By appointment
Wright, Richard Chair, Professor rawright@uw.edu
(206) 616-2426
GUG 414B
Summer: by appointment
Wu, Gregory (Meng-Chen) Graduate Student, CLMS Student mengw9@uw.edu
Wu, Xinyi CLMS Student xywu@uw.edu
Xia, Fei Professor fxia@uw.edu
(206) 543-9764
Guggenheim 418A
2:15-3:15pm on Thurs (in-person), 10-11am on Friday (remote via Canvas Conferences, only for ling570 students)
Xu, Yuanbo Graduate Student, CLMS Student yuanboxu@uw.edu
(443)2487341
Yan, Xu Graduate Student, CLMS Student xyan3@uw.edu
2062148286
Yeditha, Meheresh Sai Graduate Student, CLMS Student myeditha@uw.edu
Zagona, Karen Professor, Professor Emerita zagona@uw.edu
(206) 685-0979
GUG 415-K
WTR 2020: Tues 1-3pm and by appointment
Zamaraeva, Olga Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student olzama@uw.edu GUG407 desk 26
Thursdays 11 am - 12 pm
Zhang, Youyun CLMS Student youyunzh@uw.edu
Zhou, Xuhui Graduate Student, CLMS Student xuhuizh@uw.edu
Zhu, Haotian Graduate Student, CLMS Student haz060@uw.edu

Adjunct Faculty Members

An Adjunct member in the Department of Linguistics is a person who holds a primary appointment in another department of the University. This appointment is intended to recognize the contributions to and mutual scholarship with the Department of Linguistics by such faculty members (e.g. serving on graduate committees, teaching cross-listed courses, collaborating on research).

Name Title Email / Phone Office
Bilaniuk, Laada M. Adjunct Professor bilaniuk@uw.edu
Bilmes, Jeffrey A. Adjunct Associate Professor bilmes@uw.edu
Dziwirek, Katarzyna A. Adjunct Professor dziwirek@uw.edu
Elkhafaifi, Hussein Adjunct Associate Professor hme3@uw.edu
Etzioni, Oren Adjunct Professor
Fernandez-Dobao, Ana Adjunct Associate Professor anadobao@uw.edu
Handel, Zev Adjunct Professor zhandel@uw.edu
Kirchhoff, Katrin Adjunct Research Associate Professor katrin@ee.washington.edu
Kuhl, Patricia K. Adjunct Professor pkkuhl@uw.edu
Ladner, Richard Adjunct Professor ladner@cs.washington.edu
Max, Ludo Adjunct Associate Professor ludomax@uw.edu
Moore, Collette Adjunct Assistant Professor cvmoore@uw.edu
Ohta, Amy Adjunct Associate Professor aohta@uw.edu
Ostendorf, Mari Adjunct Professor mo@ee.washington.edu
Osterhout, Lee E. Adjunct Professor losterho@uw.edu
Prat, Chantel Adjunct Associate Professor of Psychology csprat@uw.edu
Shapiro, Michael C. Adjunct Professor hindimcs@uw.edu
Silberstein, Sandra V. Adjunct Professor tq@uw.edu
Smith, Maya Adjunct Assistant Professor mayaas@uw.edu
Smith, Noah A. Adjunct Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering nasmith@cs.washington.edu
Stygall, Gail Adjunct Professor stygall@uw.edu
Tennis, Joseph Adjunct Associate Professor jtennis@uw.edu
Yetisgen, Meliha Adjunct Associate Professor melihay@uw.edu
Yue-Hashimoto, Anne O. Adjunct Professor anneyue@uw.edu
Zettlemoyer, Luke Adjunct Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Engineering lsz@cs.washington.edu CSE 658

Affiliate Faculty Members

Name Title Email / Phone
Aoki, Paul Affiliate Assistant Professor i5no8@u.washington.edu
Culicover, Peter Affiliate Professor culicove@uw.edu
Hoard, James Affiliate Professor
Khan, Jeremy Affiliate jeremy@trochee.net
Lewis, William Affiliate Assistant Professor wlewis2@uw.edu
Park, Eun Hae Affiliate Assistant Professor ehpark@uw.edu
Rozelle, Lorna Affiliate Assistant Professor rozelle@uw.edu
Sano, Kyoko Affiliate sano@uw.edu
Solti, Imre Affiliate Assistant Professor solti@uw.edu
Tjalve, Michael Affiliate Assistant Professor mtjalve@u.washington.edu
Toutanova, Kristina Affiliate Assistant Professor

In Memoriam

Name Title
Omaki, Akira Assistant Professor