People - Graduate Students: Ph.D. Program

Learn more about earning a Ph.D. in Linguistics.

Photo Name / Title Contact Info Fields of Interest
eahn_profile Emily Ahn
PhD Student
eahn@uw.edu Bilingualism, Computational Linguistics, Dialog, Phonetics, Phonology, Second Language Acquisition, Speech Processing, Speech Recognition, Typology
Kellianne Bennett
PhD Candidate
keb42@uw.edu
GUG407
Office Hours: By appointment
Applied Linguistics, Chinese, English, Grammar, Japanese, Korean, Language Pedagogy, Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition, Syntax, TESOL
Nicole Chartier
PhD Candidate
chartn@uw.edu Dialectology, Perceptual Dialectology, Phonetics, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Variationist Theory
kirby Kirby Conrod
PhD Candidate
kconrod@uw.edu Gender, Minimalist Theory, Pronouns, Syntax
Picture of Ella Deaton Ella Deaton
PhD Student
edeaton@uw.edu Applied Linguistics, Bilingualism, Phonetics, Phonology, Second Language Acquisition, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Spanish
C.M. Downey
PhD Student
cmdowney@uw.edu
GUG 407
American Indian/Native American, Construction Grammar, Endangered Languages, Language Revitalization, Machine Learning, Morphology, Natural Language Processing, Russian, Syntax, Typology, Unsupervised Morphology
FitzMorris-photo Molly FitzMorris
PhD Candidate
mkfitz@uw.edu
GUG 407
Bilingualism, Dialect Contact, Endangered Languages, Ethnography, Field Research Methods, Ladino, Sociolinguistics, Spanish, Turkish
Ajda Gokcen
PhD Student
ajdag@uw.edu
GUG 407
Office Hours: MW 1:20p-2:20p
Computational Linguistics, Discourse Analysis, Natural Language Processing, Pragmatics, Semantics, Turkish
Nataliya Griggs
PhD Candidate
ngriggs@uw.edu Historical Linguistics, Morphology, Syntax
Kristen Howell
PhD Student
kphowell@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Endangered Languages, Grammar Engineering, Head Phrase Structure Grammar, Low-density Languages, Natural Language Processing, Syntax, Typology
Jiahui Huang
PhD Student, Undergraduate Adviser
huangjh@uw.edu Chinese, Second Language Acquisition, Syntax
David Inman
PhD Candidate
davinman@uw.edu
GUG 407 #14
American Indian/Native American, Computational Linguistics, Endangered Languages, Grammar Engineering, Morphology, Syntax
Monica Jensen
PhD Student
mojen@uw.edu
Benjamin Jones
PhD Student
jonesb28@uw.edu Dialect Contact, Dialectology, Endangered Languages, Ideology, Language Attitudes, Linguistic Geography, Perceptual Dialectology, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Variationist Theory
Ted Kye
PhD Student
tkye29@uw.edu
(206) 390-4585
GUG407
Acoustics and Psychoacoustics, Endangered Languages, Korean, Lushootseed, Philosophy of Language, Phonetics, Phonology, Signal Processing, Sociophonetics, Statistics & Probability
Nathan Loggins
PhD Candidate
nloggins@uw.edu
GUG 407
Chinese, Endangered Languages, Historical Linguistics, Japanese, Linguistic Geography, Phonology, Sino-Tibetan languages, tone, Typology
Isaac Manrique
PhD Student
imanriq@uw.edu
Photo of Courtney Mansfield Courtney Mansfield
PhD Student
coman8@uw.edu
GUG 407
Office Hours: By Appointment
Computational Linguistics, Dialog, Human-computer Interaction, Natural Language Processing, Phonetics, Phonology, Prosody, Speech Recognition
Angelina Y McMillan-Major
PhD Student
aymm@uw.edu
Anna Moroz
PhD Student
akmoroz@uw.edu
Laura Munger
PhD Student
mungerla@uw.edu
Selfie Sara Ng
PhD Student
sbng@uw.edu
Room 407 #24
Computational Linguistics, Machine Learning, Machine Translation, Mathematics, Phonetics, Phonology, Programming, Prosody, Statistical Modeling, Syntax, Typography
APFace Amandalynne Paullada
PhD Student
paullada@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing
Leanne E. Rolston
PhD Candidate
rolston@uw.edu
GUG 407, also available on Skype: LeanneRolston
Office Hours: Monday noon-1, Wednesday noon-1 (Pacific time), or by appointment.
Computational Linguistics, First Language Acquisition, Grammatical and Lexical indicators of Stance, Human-computer Interaction, Linguistics, Natural Language Processing, Phonetics, Programming, Russian, Taboo Language
profile image Naomi Tachikawa Shapiro
PhD Student
tsnaomi@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing, Perception and Cognition, Phonology, Sentence Processing, Syntax
Glenn Slayden in Tomar, Portugal, 2014 Glenn Slayden
PhD Candidate
gslayden@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Machine Translation, Thai
Photo of Rob Rob Squizzero
PhD Student
rsquizz@uw.edu Acoustics and Psychoacoustics, Dialectology, Language Attitudes, Phonetics, Phonology, Second Language Acquisition, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Speech Perception
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan Alec Sugar
PhD Candidate
sugara@uw.edu Bilingualism, Chinese, Morphology, Spanish, Syntax, Uyghur
Maho Takahashi
PhD Student
mahotaka@uw.edu
Bryan Thompson
PhD Student
bkthomp@uw.edu
Yuanhe Tian
PhD Student
yhtian@uw.edu
Trent Ukasick
PhD Student
tukasick@uw.edu
Tsudoi Wada
PhD Student
tsudoiw@uw.edu
Suzzalo Brent Woo
PhD Candidate
bwoo@uw.edu
GUG 407
Grammar Engineering, Head Phrase Structure Grammar, Idioms, Minimalist Theory, Russian, Slavic, Syntax
Olga Olga Zamaraeva
PhD Candidate
olzama@uw.edu
GUG407 desk 26
Office Hours: Thursdays 11 am - 12 pm
Computational Linguistics, Computer Science, Endangered Languages, Field Research Methods, Grammar Engineering, Machine Translation, Natural Language Processing, Programming, Software, Syntax