People - Graduate Students: Ph.D. Program

Learn more about earning a Ph.D. in Linguistics.

Photo Name / Title Contact Info Fields of Interest
Kellianne Bennett
PhD Candidate
keb42@uw.edu
GUG407
Office Hours: By appointment
Applied Linguistics, Chinese, English, Grammar, Japanese, Korean, Language Pedagogy, Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition, Syntax, TESOL
TCH Taylor Carrasco-Hermerding
Doctoral Student
hermet@uw.edu
GUG 407 #16
Office Hours: T/R 1:20-2:20, or by appointment
Basque, Bilingualism, First Language Acquisition, Language Contact, Minimalist Theory, Psycholinguistics, Second Language Acquisition, Sentence Processing, Spanish, Syntax
Nicole Chartier
PhD Candidate
chartn@uw.edu Dialectology, Perceptual Dialectology, Phonetics, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Variationist Theory
kirby Kirby Conrod
PhD Candidate
kconrod@uw.edu Gender, Minimalist Theory, Pronouns, Syntax
Amie DeJong
Linguistics Undergraduate Adviser
lingadv@uw.edu Dialect Contact, Endangered Languages, French, Sociolinguistics, Syntax
C.M. Downey
Graduate Student
cmdowney@uw.edu
FitzMorris-photo Molly FitzMorris
Doctoral Candidate
mkfitz@uw.edu
GUG 407
Office Hours: SPR 18: Wednesday and Thursday 10-11 AM or by appointment
Arabic, Bilingualism, Dialect Contact, Endangered Languages, Ethnography, Field Research Methods, Ladino, Sociolinguistics, Spanish, Turkish
Allison Germain photo Allison Germain
PhD Alumna
agermain@uw.edu
Office Hours: Abroad in Lithuania Autumn 2016 - Spring 2017
Semantics, Syntax
Ajda Gokcen
Doctoral Student
ajdag@uw.edu
GUG 407
Office Hours: MW 1:20p-2:20p
Computational Linguistics, Discourse Analysis, Natural Language Processing, Pragmatics, Semantics, Turkish
Michael Wayne Goodman
PhD Alumnus
goodmami@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Grammar, Grammar Engineering, Head Phrase Structure Grammar, Japanese, Machine Learning, Machine Translation, Natural Language Processing
Nataliya Griggs
Doctoral Candidate
ngriggs@uw.edu Historical Linguistics, Morphology, Syntax
Kristen Howell
Doctoral Student
kphowell@uw.edu
Jiahui Huang
Doctoral Student
huangjh@uw.edu
Office Hours: Mon 12:00-1:00pm; Thur 2:30-3:30pm
Chinese, Second Language Acquisition, Syntax
David Inman
Doctoral Candidate
davinman@uw.edu
GUG 407 #14
American Indian/Native American, Computational Linguistics, Endangered Languages, Grammar Engineering, Syntax
Monica Jensen
Graduate Student
mojen@uw.edu
Benjamin Jones
Doctoral Student
jonesb28@uw.edu Dialect Contact, Dialectology, Endangered Languages, Ideology, Language Attitudes, Linguistic Geography, Perceptual Dialectology, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Variationist Theory
Rik Kedziorski
Doctoral Candidate
kedzior@uw.edu Discourse Analysis, Pragmatics
Ted Kye
Graduate Student
tkye29@uw.edu
Nathan Loggins
PhD Candidate
nloggins@uw.edu
GUG 407
Chinese, Endangered Languages, Historical Linguistics, Japanese, Linguistic Geography, Phonology, Sino-Tibetan languages, tone, Typology
Isaac Manrique
Graduate Student
imanriq@uw.edu
Photo of Courtney Mansfield Courtney Mansfield
Doctoral Student
coman8@uw.edu
GUG 407
Office Hours: By Appointment
Computational Linguistics, Dialog, Human-computer Interaction, Natural Language Processing, Phonetics, Phonology, Prosody, Speech Recognition
Angelina Y McMillan-Major
Graduate Student
aymm@uw.edu
Chad Mills
Doctoral Candidate
chills@uw.edu
Anna Moroz
Doctoral Student
akmoroz@uw.edu
Selfie Sara Ng
PhD Student
sbng@uw.edu
Room 407 #24
Computational Linguistics, Machine Learning, Machine Translation, Mathematics, Phonetics, Phonology, Programming, Prosody, Statistical Modeling, Syntax, Typography
laurapanfili Laura Panfili
Doctoral Candidate
lpanfili@uw.edu
GUG 407
Acoustics and Psychoacoustics, Computational Linguistics, Machine Learning, Phonation, Phonetics, Sociophonetics, Speech Recognition, Typology, Variationist Theory
APFace Amandalynne Paullada
Doctoral Student
paullada@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing
Leanne E. Rolston
Doctoral Candidate
rolston@uw.edu
GUG 407, also available on Skype: LeanneRolston
Office Hours: Monday noon-1, Wednesday noon-1 (Pacific time), or by appointment.
Computational Linguistics, First Language Acquisition, Grammatical and Lexical indicators of Stance, Human-computer Interaction, Linguistics, Natural Language Processing, Phonetics, Programming, Russian, Taboo Language
profile image Naomi Tachikawa Shapiro
Graduate Student
tsnaomi@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing, Perception and Cognition, Phonology, Sentence Processing, Syntax
Glenn Slayden in Tomar, Portugal, 2014 Glenn Slayden
Doctoral Candidate
gslayden@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Machine Translation, Thai
Photo of Rob Rob Squizzero
PhD Student
rsquizz@uw.edu Acoustics and Psychoacoustics, Dialectology, Language Attitudes, Phonetics, Phonology, Second Language Acquisition, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Speech Perception, Variationist Theory
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan Alec Sugar
Doctoral Candidate
sugara@uw.edu Chinese, Morphology, Spanish, Syntax, Uyghur
Maho Takahashi
Graduate Student
mahotaka@uw.edu
Bryan Thompson
PhD Student
bkthomp@uw.edu
Tsudoi Wada
PhD Student
tsudoiw@uw.edu
Suzzalo Brent Woo
Doctoral Candidate
bwoo@uw.edu
GUG 407
Grammar Engineering, Head Phrase Structure Grammar, Idioms, Minimalist Theory, Russian, Slavic, Syntax
Facepic-chaklamcolumyip Chak Lam Colum Yip
Doctoral Candidate
columyip@uw.edu
GUG 407
Office Hours: By appointment
Applied Linguistics, Bilingualism, Chinese, Historical Linguistics, Minimalist Theory, Second Language Acquisition, Syntax
Olga Olga Zamaraeva
Doctoral Candidate
olzama@uw.edu