People - Graduate Students: Ph.D. Program

Learn more about earning a Ph.D. in Linguistics.

Photo Name / Title Contact Info Fields of Interest
eahn_profile Emily Ahn
PhD Student
eahn@uw.edu Bilingualism, Computational Linguistics, Dialog, Phonetics, Phonology, Second Language Acquisition, Speech Processing, Speech Recognition, Typology
Vipasha Bansal
PhD Student
vipashab@uw.edu
photo Megan Barnes
PhD Student
mrbarnes@uw.edu
GUG 407
Bilingualism, Computational Linguistics, Computer Science, Linguistics, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing, Semantics, Syntax
Adeline Braverman
PhD Student
abrave@uw.edu
profile image Elizabeth Conrad
PhD Student
ecconrad@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Computer Science, Korean, Linguistics, Machine Learning, Machine Translation, Natural Language Processing, Phonetics, Programming, Spanish
Picture of Ella Deaton Ella Deaton
PhD Student
edeaton@uw.edu Applied Linguistics, Bilingualism, Phonetics, Phonology, Second Language Acquisition, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Spanish
Gita Dhungana
PhD Student
gitad@uw.edu
C.M. Downey
PhD Student
cmdowney@uw.edu
GUG 407
American Indian/Native American, Construction Grammar, Endangered Languages, Language Revitalization, Machine Learning, Morphology, Natural Language Processing, Russian, Syntax, Typology, Unsupervised Morphology
me in front of Lake Huron, MI Raymond Gagné
PhD Student
gagner2@uw.edu French, Historical Linguistics, Japanese, Linguistics, Minimalist Theory, Morphology, Polish, Slavic Languages, Syntax
Ajda Gokcen
PhD Student
ajdag@uw.edu
GUG 407
Office Hours: MW 1:20p-2:20p
Computational Linguistics, Discourse Analysis, Natural Language Processing, Pragmatics, Semantics, Turkish
monica jensen portraite Monica Jensen
PhD Student
mojen@uw.edu Sociolinguistics, Sociosyntax, Syntax
Benjamin Jones
PhD Student
jonesb28@uw.edu Dialect Contact, Dialectology, Endangered Languages, Ideology, Language Attitudes, Linguistic Geography, Perceptual Dialectology, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Variationist Theory
Saiya Karamali
PhD Student
karamali@uw.edu
Ted Kye
PhD Student
tkye29@uw.edu
(206) 390-4585
GUG407
Acoustics and Psychoacoustics, Endangered Languages, Korean, Lushootseed, Morphology, Phonetics, Phonology, Salish Linguistics, Signal Processing, Sociophonetics, Statistics & Probability
Siyu Liang Siyu Liang
PhD Student
liangsy@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Field Research Methods, Language Documentation, Natural Language Processing, Phonetics, Phonology, Speech Recognition
Katie Lindekugel
PhD Student
kl17@uw.edu Applied Linguistics, Dialectology, Endangered Languages, First Language Acquisition, Historical Linguistics, Japanese, Phonetics, Phonology, Second Language Acquisition, Sociolinguistics
Nathan Loggins
PhD Candidate
nloggins@uw.edu
GUG 407
Chinese, Endangered Languages, Historical Linguistics, Japanese, Linguistic Geography, Phonology, Sino-Tibetan languages, tone, Typology
photo of Cassie Maz Cassie Maz
PhD Student
cassam5@uw.edu American Sign Language, Computational Linguistics, Discourse Analysis, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing, Pragmatics, Second Language Acquisition, Semantics, Sociolinguistics
Angelina Y McMillan-Major
PhD Student
aymm@uw.edu
DEN 120
Computational Linguistics, Endangered Languages, Ethics, Low-density Languages, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing
Laura Munger
PhD Student
mungerla@uw.edu
Sara Ng profile picture Sara Ng
PhD Student
sbng@uw.edu
Room 407 #24
Office Hours: Monday, Friday 3:30-4:30 PST
Computational Linguistics, Machine Learning, Machine Translation, Mathematics, Phonetics, Phonology, Programming, Prosody, Statistical Modeling, Syntax, Typography
APFace Amandalynne Paullada
PhD Student
paullada@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing
profile image Naomi Tachikawa Shapiro
PhD Student
tsnaomi@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing, Perception and Cognition, Phonology, Sentence Processing, Syntax
Kaveri Sheth
PhD Student
ksheth2@uw.edu
Photo of Rob Rob Squizzero
PhD Student
rsquizz@uw.edu Acoustics and Psychoacoustics, Articulatory Phonetics, Chinese, Language Attitudes, Phonetics, Phonology, Social Psychology, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Speech Perception
Bryan Thompson
PhD Student
bkthomp@uw.edu
Yuanhe Tian Yuanhe Tian
PhD Student
yhtian@uw.edu Chinese, Computational Linguistics, Natural Language Processing
Trent Ukasick
PhD Student
tukasick@uw.edu
Tsudoi Wada
PhD Student
tsudoiw@uw.edu
Haotian Zhu
PhD Student
haz060@uw.edu Chinese, Computational Linguistics, Machine Learning, Machine Translation, Natural Language Processing, Statistics & Probability