People - Graduate Students: Ph.D. Program

Learn more about earning a Ph.D. in Linguistics.

Photo Name / Title Contact Info Fields of Interest
Kellianne Bennett
Doctoral Student
keb42@uw.edu
GUG407
Office Hours: By appointment
Chinese, English, Field Research Methods, Japanese, Korean, Syntax
Taylor Carrasco-Hermerding Taylor Carrasco-Hermerding
Doctoral Student
hermet@uw.edu
GUG 407 #16
Basque, Bilingualism, First Language Acquisition, Minimalist Theory, Psycholinguistics, Second Language Acquisition, Sentence Processing, Spanish, Syntax
Nicole Chartier
Doctoral Student
chartn@uw.edu Dialectology, Perceptual Dialectology, Phonetics, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Variationist Theory
kirby Kirby Conrod
Doctoral Student
kconrod@uw.edu Gender, Minimalist Theory, Pronouns, Syntax
Amie DeJong
Linguistics Undergraduate Adviser
lingadv@uw.edu Dialect Contact, Endangered Languages, French, Sociolinguistics, Syntax
Molly FitzMorris
Doctoral Student
mkfitz@uw.edu
GUG 407
Arabic, Bilingualism, Dialect Contact, Endangered Languages, Ethnography, Field Research Methods, Ladino, Social Networks, Sociolinguistics, Spanish, Turkish
Allison Germain photo Allison Germain
Doctoral Candidate
agermain@uw.edu
Office Hours: Abroad in Lithuania Autumn 2016 - Spring 2017
Semantics, Syntax
Ajda Gokcen
Doctoral Student
ajdag@uw.edu
GUG 407
Office Hours: MW 1:20p-2:20p
Computational Linguistics, Discourse Analysis, Natural Language Processing, Pragmatics, Semantics, Turkish
Michael Wayne Goodman
Doctoral Candidate
goodmami@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Grammar, Grammar Engineering, Head Phrase Structure Grammar, Japanese, Machine Learning, Machine Translation, Natural Language Processing
Nataliya Griggs
Doctoral Student
ngriggs@uw.edu Historical Linguistics, Morphology, Syntax
Kristen Howell
Doctoral Student
kphowell@uw.edu
Jiahui Huang
Doctoral Student
huangjh@uw.edu
Office Hours: 3:45pm-4:45pm Mon/Thur
Chinese, Second Language Acquisition, Semantics, Syntax
David Inman
Doctoral Candidate
davinman@uw.edu
GUG 407 #14
American Indian/Native American, Computational Linguistics, Endangered Languages, Grammar Engineering, Syntax
Benjamin Jones
Doctoral Student
jonesb28@uw.edu Dialect Contact, Dialectology, Endangered Languages, Ideology, Language Attitudes, Linguistic Geography, Perceptual Dialectology, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Variationist Theory
Rik Kedziorski
Doctoral Candidate
kedzior@uw.edu Discourse Analysis, Pragmatics
Esther Le Grezause
Doctoral Candidate
elg1@uw.edu
GUG 407
Office Hours: Tuesday 3:15-5:15pm
Computational Linguistics, Discourse Analysis, Hindi and Marathi, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing, Phonetics, Second Language Acquisition, Speech Perception, Speech Processing, Speech Recognition
Nathan Loggins
Doctoral Student
nloggins@uw.edu
GUG 407
Chinese, Endangered Languages, Historical Linguistics, Japanese, Linguistic Geography, Phonology, Sino-Tibetan languages, tone, Typology
Photo of Courtney Mansfield Courtney Mansfield
Doctoral Student
coman8@uw.edu
GUG 407
Office Hours: By Appointment
Computational Linguistics, Dialog, Human-computer Interaction, Natural Language Processing, Phonetics, Phonology, Prosody, Speech Recognition
Anna Moroz
Doctoral Student
akmoroz@uw.edu
Marina Oganyan
Doctoral Candidate
Laura Panfili
Doctoral Candidate
lpanfili@uw.edu
GUG 407
Acoustics and Psychoacoustics, Perception and Cognition, Phonation, Phonetics, Sociophonetics, Speech Recognition, Variationist Theory
APFace Amandalynne Paullada
Doctoral Student
paullada@uw.edu Computational Linguistics
Sarala Puthuval
Doctoral Candidate
puthuval@uw.edu Chinese, Linguistic Geography, Mongolian, Phonetics, Phonology, Sociolinguistics
Leanne E. Rolston
Doctoral Student
rolston@uw.edu
GUG 407, also available on Skype: LeanneRolston
Office Hours: Monday noon-1, Wednesday noon-1 (Pacific time), or by appointment.
Computational Linguistics, First Language Acquisition, Grammatical and Lexical indicators of Stance, Human-computer Interaction, Linguistics, Natural Language Processing, Phonetics, Programming, Russian, Taboo Language
Kyoko Sano
Doctoral Candidate
sano@uw.edu Semantics, Syntax
Glenn Slayden in Tomar, Portugal, 2014 Glenn Slayden
Doctoral Candidate
gslayden@uw.edu
Office Hours: Thursdays 1:30 GUG 407
Computational Linguistics, Machine Translation, Thai
Photo Alec Sugar
Doctoral Candidate
sugara@uw.edu Chinese, Morphology, Spanish, Syntax, Uyghur
Rachael Tatman
Doctoral Candidate
rctatman@uw.edu American Sign Language, Phonetics, Phonology, Sociolinguistics
Suzzalo Brent Woo
Doctoral Student
bwoo@uw.edu
GUG 407
Grammar Engineering, Head Phrase Structure Grammar, Idioms, Minimalist Theory, Russian, Slavic, Syntax
Facepic-chaklamcolumyip Chak Lam Colum Yip
Doctoral Candidate
columyip@uw.edu
GUG 407
Office Hours: By appointment
Applied Linguistics, Bilingualism, Chinese, Historical Linguistics, Minimalist Theory, Second Language Acquisition, Syntax
Olga Olga Zamaraeva
Doctoral Student
olzama@uw.edu