People - A-Z Directory

Name Title Email / Phonesort descending Office Hours
Pompeo, Cecilia CLMS Student
Bender, Emily M. Professor GUG 414 C
Spring 2019: (most) Thursdays 10:30-11:30 & (most) Fridays, 1:30-2:30
Babb, Aidan CLMS Student ababb@uw.edu
Baligh, Abdelrahman Graduate Student, CLMS Student abaligh@uw.edu
Dods, Allison CLMS Student adods@uw.edu
Gundogdu, Kadir (Abdulkadir) Graduate Student, CLMS Student agundog2@uw.edu
Gokcen, Ajda Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student ajdag@uw.edu GUG 407
MW 1:20p-2:20p
Emrey, Abigail CLMS Student akemrey@uw.edu
Moroz, Anna Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student akmoroz@uw.edu
Aldridge, Edith Associate Professor aldr@uw.edu
(206)685-4845
GUG 415F
By appointment
Menendez Sancho, Alfredo A Graduate Student, CLMS Student alfremen@uw.edu
Mirand-Vidaurre, Anthony Graduate Student, CLMS Student amirand@uw.edu
Chen, Amy (Tzu-Yu) Graduate Student, CLMS Student amy17519@uw.edu
Manimangalam Surendran, Aparna Graduate Student, CLMS Student apmanima@uw.edu
Sen, Arunachal J Graduate Student, CLMS Student arunsen@uw.edu
Kumar, Anish Graduate Student, CLMS Student atkumar@uw.edu
Holmes, Audrey Graduate Student, CLMS Student auholmes@uw.edu
Venton, Amina Graduate Student, CLMS Student aventon@uw.edu
Vajpayee, Avijit CLMS Student avijitv@uw.edu
Troelsen, Andrew W Graduate Student, CLMS Student awt8@uw.edu
Spivey, Alex Graduate Student axspivey@uw.edu
Edwards, Aycha Graduate Student, CLMS Student aychaedw@uw.edu
McMillan-Major, Angelina Y Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student aymm@uw.edu
Barker, Drew Gordon Graduate Student, CLMS Student barkand@uw.edu
Citko, Barbara Professor, Graduate Program Coordinator bcitko@uw.edu GUG 415C
Friday 9:30-10:30am and by appointment
Beguš, Gašper Assistant Professor begus@uw.edu
(206) 221-4031
GUG 415H
Wednesdays 12.30-1.30 PM and by appointment
Thompson, Bryan Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student bkthomp@uw.edu
Graves, Brandon Computing Staff bmgraves@uw.edu
(206) 616-8034
Padelford B5L
Woo, Brent Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student bwoo@uw.edu GUG 407
Bonny, Chad Computing Staff cbonny@uw.edu
(206) 934-1411
Padelford B5L
By appointment
Tien, Chih-Chan CLMS Student cctien@uw.edu
Chartier, Nicole Research Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student chartn@uw.edu
Mei, Chih Hsuan Graduate Student, CLMS Student chmei@uw.edu
Kim, Cody Graduate Student, CLMS Student cjaikim@uw.edu
Gansen, Cady Graduate Student, CLMS Student clgansen@uw.edu
Downey, C.M. Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student cmdowney@uw.edu GUG 407
Mansfield, Courtney Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student coman8@uw.edu GUG 407
By Appointment
Cooper, Michael Lecturer cooperm8@uw.edu Guggenheim 406
Campos, Daniel CLMS Student dacampos@uw.edu
4152729964
Inman, David Research Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student davinman@uw.edu GUG 407 #14
Mandeville, Dan Librarian dcman@uw.edu
(206) 685-1446
SUZ 139
By appointment - MTWTh
Johnson, Devin Graduate Student, CLMS Student dj1121@uw.edu
Mak, Denise P Graduate Student, CLMS Student dpm3@uw.edu
Du, Wendy Graduate Student, CLMS Student duw1@uw.edu
Ahn, Emily Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student eahn@uw.edu
Bateman, Emma CLMS Student ebateman@uw.edu
Conrad, Elizabeth Graduate Student, CLMS Student ecconrad@uw.edu
Deaton, Ella Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student edeaton@uw.edu
Horn, Einar CLMS Student einarh@uw.edu
Sim, Erica J Graduate Student ejsim@uw.edu
Khasanova, Elena Graduate Student, CLMS Student ekhas1@uw.edu
Miller, Eli R N Graduate Student elirnm@uw.edu
Bliss, Elye Graduate Student, CLMS Student elyeb@uw.edu
Ho, Emily Graduate Student, CLMS Student emilyho@uw.edu
Gardner, Erica Graduate Student, CLMS Student erstgard@uw.edu
Tomasic, Erik Graduate Student, CLMS Student etomasic@uw.edu
(224) 330-5041
Evans, Betsy Associate Professor evansbe@uw.edu 415D GUG
Newmeyer, Frederick Professor Emeritus fjn@uw.edu
Furr, Michael Administrator furr@uw.edu
206-685-7467
414C Guggenheim Hall
8:00AM-4:45PM
Xia, Fei Professor fxia@uw.edu
(206) 543-9764
Guggenheim 418A
2:15-3:15pm on Thurs (in-person), 10-11am on Friday (remote via Canvas Conferences, only for ling570 students)
Peaslee, Genevieve Graduate Student, CLMS Student genevp@uw.edu
Slayden, Glenn Research Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student gslayden@uw.edu
Li, Jiaxuan Graduate Student, CLMS Student guagua11@uw.edu
Haberland, Christopher Graduate Student, CLMS Student haberc@uw.edu
Kulkarni, Harish Graduate Student, CLMS Student harish@uw.edu
Kannan, Harita Graduate Student, CLMS Student haritak5@uw.edu
Zhu, Haotian Graduate Student, CLMS Student haz060@uw.edu
Contreras, Heles Professor Emeritus helesc@uw.edu
Herschensohn, Julia Professor Emerita herschen@uw.edu
206-685-2858
GUG 415-K
By appointment
Hoza, James Heinrich Graduate Student, CLMS Student hhoza@uw.edu
Lepp, Haley Graduate Student, CLMS Student hlepp@uw.edu
Morrison, Heather Graduate Student, CLMS Student hmorri83@uw.edu
Huang, Jiahui Undergraduate Adviser, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student huangjh@uw.edu
Huang, Sicong Graduate Student, CLMS Student huangs33@uw.edu
Manrique, Isaac Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student imanriq@uw.edu
Bruno, James V Graduate Student, CLMS Student jbruno@uw.edu
Chen, Jiani CLMS Student jchen96@uw.edu
Gioannini, Jesse CLMS Student jessegio@uw.edu
5754050696
Mena, Jesse CLMS Student jesserme@uw.edu
Luke, Hayley CLMS Student jhluke@uw.edu
Blackburn, James Graduate Student, CLMS Student jimbb82@uw.edu
Nguyen, Jimmy Graduate Student, CLMS Student jimmyn94@uw.edu
Klausenburger, Jurgen Professor Emeritus jklaus@uw.edu
McAnallen, Julia CLMS Student jmcanal@uw.edu
Jones, Benjamin Research Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student jonesb28@uw.edu
Tanner, Joshua Graduate Student, CLMS Student jotanner@uw.edu
Gunn, Jotham Graduate Student, CLMS Student jothamg@uw.edu
Dodson, John Graduate Student, CLMS Student jrdodson@uw.edu
Hoffman, Jacob Graduate Student, CLMS Student jrhoff@uw.edu
Kaisse, Ellen Professor Emeritus kaisse@uw.edu
(54)3-6004
Guggenheim 415K
Spring 2018 Fridays 2-3:20 and by appointment
Conrod, Kirby Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student kconrod@uw.edu
Bennett, Kellianne Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student keb42@uw.edu GUG407
By appointment
Sanders, Kevin Graduate Student, CLMS Student kevsan@uw.edu
Henner, Kevin CLMS Student khenner@uw.edu
Dodds, Kim Graduate Student, CLMS Student kimdodds@uw.edu
Howell, Kristen Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student kphowell@uw.edu
Winter, Kristi Lecturer kwinter2@uw.edu GUG 406
By appointment
McGarrity, Laura Lecturer lauramcg@uw.edu
(206) 685-3549
GUG 418C
Winter 2019: MW 10:30-11:20a (and by appt)
Haroutunian, Levon Graduate Student, CLMS Student levonh@uw.edu
Levow, Gina-Anne Associate Professor levow@uw.edu
(206) 616-5728
GUG 418B
Tuesday 2:30-3:30
Loessberg-Zahl, Alexandra CLMS Student lexilz@uw.edu
Forshay, Lance Lecturer lforshay@uw.edu
206-452-0085
GUG 406
12:00-2:00 p.m. M-F
Chuanrong, Li Graduate Student, CLMS Student licor@uw.edu
Burgess, Misha Program Coordinator linguw@uw.edu
(206) 543-2046
Guggenheim 414
Liu, Lu CLMS Student liulu813@uw.edu
Longwill, Benny Graduate Student, CLMS Student longwill@uw.edu
Strunk, Lonny Graduate Student, CLMS Student lstrunk@uw.edu
Takahashi, Maho Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student mahotaka@uw.edu
Albitz, Marla Graduate Student, CLMS Student malbitz@uw.edu
Martinez, Marcus CLMS Student marcusgm@uw.edu
Oganyan, Marina Postdoc marina0@uw.edu
Tarlinskaya, Marina Professor Emerita marinat@uw.edu
Benak, Matthew D. Alumnus mbenak@uw.edu
Wu, Gregory (Meng-Chen) Graduate Student, CLMS Student mengw9@uw.edu
Guerrero, Mikaela Graduate Student, CLMS Student mguerr20@uw.edu
Henderson, Michael Graduate Student, CLMS Student mhender@uw.edu
Liu, Mingfei CLMS Student mingfei@uw.edu
Nichols, David Computing Staff mithreal@uw.edu Wednesdays 9 - 10:30 or by appointment. Please email to arrange a meeting location.
FitzMorris, Molly Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student mkfitz@uw.edu GUG 407
Horst, Martin Graduate Student, CLMS Student mmhorst@uw.edu
Church, Joanna Graduate Student, CLMS Student mnij525@uw.edu
Jensen, Monica Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student mojen@uw.edu
Scanlon, Michael Graduate Student ms27@uw.edu
Shah, Marina Graduate Student msshah2@uw.edu
Tian, Meijing Graduate Student, CLMS Student mt2823@uw.edu
Tsaih, Marilyn Graduate Student, CLMS Student mtsaih@uw.edu
Munger, Laura Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student mungerla@uw.edu
Yeditha, Meheresh Sai Graduate Student, CLMS Student myeditha@uw.edu
Jackson, Nicholaus CLMS Student naj273@uw.edu
Ferjan Ramírez, Naja Assistant Professor naja@uw.edu Guggenheim 414B
Nielsen, David Graduate Student, CLMS Student ndavidl@uw.edu
Griggs, Nataliya Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student ngriggs@uw.edu
Tampakis, Nikitas Graduate Student, CLMS Student nikitas@uw.edu
Davis, Niticon Graduate Student, CLMS Student niticon@uw.edu
Loggins, Nathan Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student nloggins@uw.edu GUG 407
Sampath, Nitya Graduate Student, CLMS Student nsampath@uw.edu
Ogihara, Toshiyuki Professor, Graduate Program Coordinator ogihara@uw.edu GUG 415G
MW 3:30 - 4:30 (Winter 2018)
Zamaraeva, Olga Research Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student olzama@uw.edu GUG407 desk 26
Thursdays 11 am - 12 pm
Paullada, Amandalynne Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student paullada@uw.edu
Gaston, Patrick Graduate Student, CLMS Student pgaston@uw.edu
Parvi, Joyce Program Coordinator phoneme@uw.edu
206-221-7415
Guggenheim Hall Room 414A
9:30am-5pm
Finkelstein, Paige Graduate Student, CLMS Student plfink@uw.edu
Mohan, Preeti Graduate Student, CLMS Student preetmhn@uw.edu
Wright, Richard Chair, Professor rawright@uw.edu
(206) 616-2426
GUG 414B
Summer: by appointment
Lowy, Rachel Graduate Student, CLMS Student rlowy@uw.edu
Rolston, Leanne E. Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student rolston@uw.edu GUG 407, also available on Skype: LeanneRolston
Monday noon-1, Wednesday noon-1 (Pacific time), or by appointment.
Squizzero, Rob Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student rsquizz@uw.edu
Tripi, Ross Graduate Student, CLMS Student rtripi@uw.edu
Shah, Saumya Graduate Student, CLMS Student saumyas@uw.edu
Ng, Sara Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student sbng@uw.edu Room 407 #24
Schoener, Peter CLMS Student schoener@uw.edu
Gupta, Sarah Graduate Student, CLMS Student sgupta8@uw.edu
Steinert-Threlkeld, Shane Assistant Professor shanest@uw.edu Guggenheim 418D
Hargus, Sharon Professor sharon@uw.edu
(206) 685-4263
GUG 415J
W 3:30-4:30, F 2:30-3:30
Wang, Shunjie Graduate Student, CLMS Student shunjiew@uw.edu
Lin, Shengshuo Graduate Student, CLMS Student shuo2019@uw.edu
Nayak, Simola Graduate Student, CLMS Student simnayak@uw.edu
Ou, Shu CLMS Student sjou@uw.edu
Simpson, Scott Graduate Student sksca@uw.edu
Ladymon, Shannon Graduate Student, CLMS Student sladymon@uw.edu
Peterson, Stephanie Graduate Student, CLMS Student slp24@uw.edu
Ma, Suiliang CLMS Student sma528@uw.edu
Chang, Sophia CLMS Student sophiayu@uw.edu
Sugar, Alec Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student sugara@uw.edu
Wilcoxson, Samantha Graduate Student, CLMS Student swilco@uw.edu
Zhu, Shi Graduate Student, CLMS Student sz4vw@uw.edu
Clark, Tara Graduate Student, CLMS Student tclrk@uw.edu
Powers, Tev'n Graduate Student, CLMS Student tevn@uw.edu
Guinard, Theresa Graduate Student, CLMS Student thegui@uw.edu
Phan, Thomas Graduate Student, CLMS Student thomphan@uw.edu
Kye, Ted Teaching Assistant, Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student tkye29@uw.edu
(206) 390-4585
GUG407
Chong, Tristan E. Alumnus tristanc@uw.edu
Rohlin, Tracy Graduate Student, CLMS Student trohlin@uw.edu
Shapiro, Naomi Tachikawa Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student tsnaomi@uw.edu
Wada, Tsudoi Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student tsudoiw@uw.edu
Ukasick, Trent Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student tukasick@uw.edu
Tumuluri, Venkata Shyam Kiran CLMS Student tumulv@uw.edu
Miljanic, Veljko Graduate Student, CLMS Student veljko@uw.edu
Kumar, Vikash Graduate Student, CLMS Student vikas134@uw.edu
Ramaswamy, Vinay Graduate Student, CLMS Student vinayram@uw.edu
Soesanto, Vincent J Graduate Student, CLMS Student vsoes@uw.edu
Woldenga-Racine, Vanessa Graduate Student, CLMS Student vwr@uw.edu
Rose, Wesley Graduate Student, CLMS Student warose91@uw.edu
(970) 691-4362
Wassink, Alicia Beckford Associate Professor wassink@uw.edu GUG 415
By appointment
Willson, Luke A CLMS Student willson2@uw.edu
Packard, Woodley Graduate Student wpack@uw.edu
Presant, William Graduate Student, CLMS Student wpresant@uw.edu
Grant, Xena CLMS Student xg123@uw.edu
Zhou, Xuhui Graduate Student, CLMS Student xuhuizh@uw.edu
Yan, Xu Graduate Student, CLMS Student xyan3@uw.edu
Wu, Xinyi CLMS Student xywu@uw.edu
Tian, Yuanhe Graduate Student, Ph.D. Student yhtian@uw.edu
Wei, Yi-Shu Graduate Student yishuwei@uw.edu
Zhang, Youyun CLMS Student youyunzh@uw.edu
Xu, Yuanbo Graduate Student, CLMS Student yuanboxu@uw.edu
(443)2487341
Gong, Glen (Yulu) Graduate Student, CLMS Student yulug13@uw.edu
Zagona, Karen Professor, Professor Emerita zagona@uw.edu
(206) 685-0979
GUG 415K
Spring OH: T 1-3pm and by appointment
Chang, Zixiao Graduate Student, CLMS Student zichang@uw.edu
Winkworth, Zoe CLMS Student zoew2@uw.edu

Adjunct Faculty Members

An Adjunct member in the Department of Linguistics is a person who holds a primary appointment in another department of the University. This appointment is intended to recognize the contributions to and mutual scholarship with the Department of Linguistics by such faculty members (e.g. serving on graduate committees, teaching cross-listed courses, collaborating on research).

Name Title Email / Phonesort descending Office
Etzioni, Oren Adjunct Professor
Fernandez-Dobao, Ana Adjunct Associate Professor anadobao@uw.edu
Yue-Hashimoto, Anne O. Adjunct Professor anneyue@uw.edu
Ohta, Amy Adjunct Associate Professor aohta@uw.edu
Bilaniuk, Laada M. Adjunct Professor bilaniuk@uw.edu
Bilmes, Jeffrey A. Adjunct Associate Professor bilmes@uw.edu
Prat, Chantel Adjunct Associate Professor of Psychology csprat@uw.edu
Moore, Collette Adjunct Assistant Professor cvmoore@uw.edu
Dziwirek, Katarzyna A. Adjunct Professor dziwirek@uw.edu
Shapiro, Michael C. Adjunct Professor hindimcs@uw.edu
Elkhafaifi, Hussein Adjunct Associate Professor hme3@uw.edu
Tennis, Joseph Adjunct Associate Professor jtennis@uw.edu
Kirchhoff, Katrin Adjunct Research Associate Professor katrin@ee.washington.edu
Ladner, Richard Adjunct Professor ladner@cs.washington.edu
Osterhout, Lee E. Adjunct Professor losterho@uw.edu
Zettlemoyer, Luke Adjunct Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Engineering lsz@cs.washington.edu CSE 658
Max, Ludo Adjunct Associate Professor ludomax@uw.edu
Smith, Maya Adjunct Assistant Professor mayaas@uw.edu
Yetisgen, Meliha Adjunct Associate Professor melihay@uw.edu
Ostendorf, Mari Adjunct Professor mo@ee.washington.edu
Smith, Noah A. Adjunct Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering nasmith@cs.washington.edu
Kuhl, Patricia K. Adjunct Professor pkkuhl@uw.edu
Stygall, Gail Adjunct Professor stygall@uw.edu
Silberstein, Sandra V. Adjunct Professor tq@uw.edu
Handel, Zev Adjunct Professor zhandel@uw.edu

Affiliate Faculty Members

Name Title Email / Phonesort descending
Hoard, James Affiliate Professor
Toutanova, Kristina Affiliate Assistant Professor
Aoki, Paul Affiliate Assistant Professor i5no8@u.washington.edu
Khan, Jeremy Affiliate jeremy@trochee.net
Tjalve, Michael Affiliate Assistant Professor mtjalve@u.washington.edu
Rozelle, Lorna Affiliate Assistant Professor rozelle@uw.edu
Sano, Kyoko Affiliate sano@uw.edu
Solti, Imre Affiliate Assistant Professor solti@uw.edu
Lewis, William Affiliate Assistant Professor wlewis2@uw.edu

In Memoriam

Name Title
Omaki, Akira Assistant Professor