People - Graduate Students

Photo Name / Title Contact Info Fields of Interest
Hyunjung Sophie Ahn
Graduate Student
ahnhj@uw.edu Applied Linguistics, Japanese, Korean, Second Language Acquisition, Syntax
Ahmed Aly
Graduate Student
ahhegazy@uw.edu
Maria Alexandra Antoniak
Graduate Student
riamarie@uw.edu
Syed Arshad
Graduate Student
sarshad@uw.edu
Andrew Baer
Graduate Student
baera4@uw.edu
Abdelrahman Baligh
Graduate Student
abaligh@uw.edu
Stefan Behr
Graduate Student
abehr@uw.edu Natural Language Processing, Programming, Speech Recognition, Machine Learning
Steven Belski
Graduate Student
sab047@uw.edu
Matthew D. Benak
Graduate Student
mbenak@uw.edu
Kellianne Bennett
Graduate Student
keb42@uw.edu
GUG407
Office Hours: TTh 12:30-1:30p
Chinese, English, Field Research Methods, Japanese, Korean, Syntax
Arjun Bhalla
Graduate Student
ab58@uw.edu
Ryan Scott Bielby
Graduate Student
rbielby@uw.edu
Melanie F. Bolla
Graduate Student
mfbolla@uw.edu Dialectology, Discourse Analysis, Speech, Sociolinguistics, Computational Linguistics, Language Pedagogy
Antariksh V. Bothale
Graduate Student
abothale@uw.edu
Florian Braun
Graduate Student
braunf@uw.edu
Anca Burducea
Graduate Student
anca@uw.edu
Maria N. Burgess
Graduate Student
mapnea@uw.edu Language Attitudes, Phonetics, Phonology
Alexandra Burrell
Graduate Student
burrella@uw.edu
Alexandra Cabral
Graduate Student
acabral@uw.edu
Matthew Calderwood
Graduate Student
calderma@uw.edu
Stephen Steele Carter
Graduate Student
steele42@uw.edu
Joshua Cason
Graduate Student
casonj@uw.edu
Julian Yui-Hin Chan
Graduate Student
jchan3@uw.edu
Nicole Chartier
Graduate Student
chartn@uw.edu Dialectology, Perceptual Dialectology, Phonetics, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Variationist Theory
Nick Chen
Graduate Student
nickchen@uw.edu
Ceara Chewning
Graduate Student
ceara@uw.edu
Tristan E. Chong
Graduate Student
tristanc@uw.edu
Kirby Conrod
Graduate Student
kconrod@uw.edu Language Pedagogy, Second Language Acquisition, SyntaxCase Assignment
George R. Cooper
Graduate Student
grcooper@uw.edu
Chris Curtis
Graduate Student
cmc3c@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Endangered Languages, Grammar Engineering, Typology
Wei Dai
Graduate Student
daiw@uw.edu
Amie DeJong
Graduate Student
acdejong@uw.edu Dialect Contact, Endangered Languages, French, Sociolinguistics, Syntax
Laurie Dermer
Graduate Student
ldermer@uw.edu
Ahmad Khamis Elshenawy
Graduate Student
aelshen@uw.edu
Mary FitzMorris
Graduate Student
mkfitz@uw.edu
PDL C-222
Office Hours: W 9:30-10:20, Th 11:30-12:20
Bilingualism, Endangered Languages, Ladino, Language Attitudes, Sociolinguistics, Spanish
Valerie Freeman
Graduate Student
valerief@uw.edu
GUG 407a
Office Hours: by appointment
Dialectology, Phonetics, Phonology, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics
Ruth E. Frowein
Graduate Student
ruthf@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Speech Recognition
Brandon Gahler
Graduate Student
bjg6@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Computer Science, Head Phrase Structure Grammar, Machine Translation, Pragmatics, Second Language Acquisition, Semantics, SyntaxLexical Semantics, Question Answering
Robert Gale
Graduate Student
rcgale@uw.edu
Eric Garnick
Graduate Student
egarnick@uw.edu
Ryan Georgi
Graduate Student
rgeorgi@uw.edu Computational Linguistics
Allison Germain
Graduate Student
agermain@uw.edu Semantics, Syntax
Justin Mitchell Goodenkauf
Graduate Student
goodenka@uw.edu Syntax, Second Language Acquisition, Spanish
Michael Wayne Goodman
Graduate Student
goodmami@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Grammar, Grammar Engineering, Head Phrase Structure Grammar, Japanese, Machine Learning, Machine Translation, Natural Language Processing
Nataliya Griggs
Graduate Student
ngriggs@uw.edu Historical Linguistics, Morphology, Syntax
Qi Guo
Graduate Student
qcg@uw.edu
Nandesh Guru
Graduate Student
nguru@uw.edu
Jeffrey Heath
Graduate Student
jch65@uw.edu
Norah Lynne Hogoboom
Graduate Student
norah@uw.edu Chinese, Computational Linguistics, Japanese, Korean, Morphology, Phonetics, Phonology, Software, Speech Processing, Speech RecognitionCJK Information Processing
James Heinrich Hoza
Graduate Student
hhoza@uw.edu Natural Language Processing
Wei-Chieh Hsiung
Graduate Student
allenwch@uw.edu
Chen-Chieh Hsu
Graduate Student
cjhsu@uw.edu
Russell Hugo
PhD Candidate
rlhugo@uw.du American Indian/Native American, Applied Linguistics, Endangered Languages, Language Attitudes, Language Pedagogy, Language Policy, Second Language Acquisition, Sociolinguistics, SoftwareFormulaic Language
Wendy Kempsell Jacinto
Graduate Student
kempsell@uw.edu Bilingualism, Ideology, Language Attitudes, Phonetics, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Spanish, Turkish
Claire Jaja
Graduate Student
cjaja@uw.edu Natural Language Processing
Andrea M. Kahn
Graduate Student
amkahn@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Computer Science, Machine Learning, Natural Language ProcessingInformation Extraction, Information Retrieval
Joseph M. Kaufmann
Graduate Student
jmk45@uw.edu
Prescott Klassen
Graduate Student
klassp@uw.edu
Kirk LaBuda
Graduate Student
kwlabuda@uw.edu
Sarah Lalonde
Graduate Student
lalondes@uw.edu
Esther Le Grezause
Graduate Student
elg1@uw.edu
GUG 407
Office Hours: Th 1:30 to 2:20 and by appointment, Guggenheim Hall, Room 407
Acoustics and Psychoacoustics, Computational Linguistics, Discourse Analysis, Phonetics, Phonology, Pragmatics, Prosody, Speech Perception, Speech Processing, Speech RecognitionHindi and Marathi
Yin Li
Graduate Student
liyin@uw.edu Chinese, Syntax
Ryan Lish
Graduate Student
rslish@uw.edu
Andrew Livingston
Graduate Student
livings2@uw.edu
Michael Lockwood
Graduate Student
lockwm@uw.edu
Nathan Loggins
Graduate Student
nloggins@uw.edu
GUG 407
Chinese, Endangered Languages, Historical Linguistics, Japanese, Linguistic Geography, Phonology, Typologytone, Sino-Tibetan languages
Katie Manlove (Langr)
Undergraduate Adviser, Graduate Student
lingadv@uw.edu
206-685-4846
Guggenheim 414D
Office Hours: Monday 10:30am-3pm; Tuesday 10:00am-3:30pm; Wednesday 10:30am-1:00pm and 2:00pm-4:30pm
American Indian/Native American, Second Language Acquisition, Semantics, Syntax
Thomas C. March
Graduate Student
sugarork@uw.edu
503-580-3126
Computational Linguistics, Grammar, Historical Linguistics, Linguistics, Morphology, Natural Language Processing, Semantics, Syntax, TypologyAncient Languages
Amy Marsh
Graduate Student
abmarsh@uw.edu
Ryan Martin
Graduate Student
ryanm43@uw.edu
John McCranie
Graduate Student
jtm37@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Endangered Languages, Second Language Acquisition
David M.S. McHugh
Graduate Student
dsmchugh@uw.edu
Jeremy McLain
Graduate Student
jeremcla@uw.edu
Veljko Miljanic
Graduate Student
veljko@uw.edu
Ruth E. Morrison
Graduate Student
ruthem2@uw.edu
Joseph Mulvey
Graduate Student
jmulvey5@uw.edu Computational Linguistics
Rebecca Myhre
Graduate Student
rjmyhre@uw.edu
Marina Oganyan
Graduate Student
marina0@uw.edu
Meghan Oxley
Graduate Student
what@uw.edu
Physics/Astronomy B-257
Language Attitudes, Perceptual Dialectology, Sociolinguistics, SociophoneticsFolk Linguistics, Southern U.S. English
Woodley Packard
Graduate Student
wpack@uw.edu
Laura Panfili
Graduate Student
lpanfili@uw.edu Phonetics, SociolinguisticsNon-modal Phonation
Nate Perkins
Graduate Student
nperk@uw.edu Computational Linguistics, Semantics
Stephanie Peterson
Graduate Student
slp24@uw.edu
Thomas Phan
Graduate Student
thomphan@uw.edu
Laurel Preston
Graduate Student
laurelpr@uw.edu
Anthony Princing
Graduate Student
asp7991@uw.edu
Sarala Puthuval
Graduate Student
puthuval@uw.edu
Office Hours: Away in Inner Mongolia, China until Summer 2015.
Chinese, Linguistic Geography, Phonetics, Phonology, SociolinguisticsMongolian
John Matt Riebold
Graduate Student
riebold@uw.edu
GUG 407A
Office Hours: by appointment
Computational Linguistics, Dialect Contact, Dialectology, Phonetics, Programming, Sociolinguistics, Sociophonetics, Speech Recognition, Variationist Theory
Leanne E. Rolston
Graduate Student
rolston@uw.edu
GUG 407, also available on Skype: LeanneRolston
Office Hours: Wednesday, 11 - 11:30, Thursday, 11 - 12, Fridays 12:30 - 1
Computational Linguistics, Computer Science, Human-computer Interaction, Machine Learning, Machine Translation, Natural Language Processing, Phonetics, Phonology, Speech RecognitionDisordered Phonologies, Distinctive Feature Theory
Michael Roylance
Graduate Student
roylance@uw.edu
Kyoko Sano
Graduate Student
sano@uw.edu Semantics, Syntax
Michael Scanlon
Graduate Student
ms27@uw.edu Phonetics, Dialect Contact, Sociophonetics, African American, English
Kazuki Shintani
Graduate Student
kazukish@uw.edu
Scott Simpson
Graduate Student
sksca@uw.edu
Glenn Slayden
Graduate Student
gslayden@uw.edu Computational Linguistics
Alec Sugar
Graduate Student
sugara@uw.edu
Esad Suskic
Graduate Student
esads@uw.edu Machine Translation
Wee Teck Tan
Graduate Student
weeteckt@uw.edu Machine Translation
Rachael Tatman
Graduate Student
rctatman@uw.edu Phonetics, Phonology
Katherine Topping
Graduate Student
Thomas James Trimble
Graduate Student
trimblet@uw.edu American Indian/Native American, Computational Linguistics, Computer Science, Endangered Languages, Head Phrase Structure Grammar, Low-density Languages, Morphology, Natural Language Processing, Speech, SyntaxGrammar Engineering
Yveline Van Anh
Graduate Student
yvananh@uw.edu
Katherine Vedder
Graduate Student
kvedder@uw.edu
Lauren Wang
Graduate Student
laurwang@uw.edu
Yi-Shu Wei
Graduate Student
yishuwei@uw.edu
Zachary Westbrook
Graduate Student
zwest@uw.edu
James P. White
Graduate Student
jimwhite@uw.edu Computational Linguistics
Edward Wong
Graduate Student
edwardkw@uw.edu
Kevin Wonus
Graduate Student
kwonus@uw.edu
Brent Woo
Graduate Student
bwoo@uw.edu
GUG 407
Office Hours: M 2:00-3:00pm, W 10:30-11:30am
Grammar Engineering, SyntaxSlavic
Xiaosu Xue
Graduate Student
xue4@uw.edu
Chak Lam Colum Yip
Graduate Student
columyip@uw.edu Syntax, Chinese
Olga Zamaraeva
Graduate Student
olzama@uw.edu