People - Faculty

Photo of Emily M. Bender
Professor
see-my@webpage.edu / GUG 414 C
Office Hours: Autumn (2021): (Most) Mondays 4-5pm & (most) Thursdays 12-1pm & by appointment; online only -- email for Zoom link
Professor and Alternate Graduate Program Coordinator
bcitko@uw.edu / GUG 415C
Office Hours: Friday 9:30-10:30am and by appointment
Naja Ferjan Ramírez profile photo
Assistant Professor
naja@uw.edu / (206) 543-4503 / Guggenheim 415B
Office Hours: M: 9:30-10:20 or by appointment. Please email for a Zoom link.
Associate Teaching Professor and ASL Language Director
lforshay@uw.edu / 206-452-0085 / GUG 406
Office Hours: 12:00-2:00 p.m. M-F
photo
Assistant Professor
mylapier@uw.edu / GUG 415F
Office Hours: M,Tu 11-12; by appointment; Zoom meeting ID: 93704333971
Associate Professor
levow@uw.edu / (206) 616-5728 / GUG 418B
Office Hours: Fridays 2:30-3:20, please email for Zoom access
Associate Teaching Professor
lauramcg@uw.edu / (206) 685-3549 / GUG 418C
Office Hours: Autumn 2021: TTH 1:30-2:30p (via Zoom)
Marina Oganyan
Acting Instructor
marina0@uw.edu
Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator
ogihara@uw.edu / GUG 415G
Office Hours: MW 3:30 - 4:30 (Winter 2018)
Linguistics Chair Richard Wright
Professor and Department Chair
rawright@uw.edu / (206) 616-2426 / GUG 414B
Office Hours: Fall 2021: Th 11-1 and by appointment
Professor
fxia@uw.edu / (206) 543-9764 / Guggenheim 418A
Office Hours: 2:15-3:15pm on Thurs (in-person), 10-11am on Friday (remote via Canvas Conferences, only for ling570 students)

Emeriti Faculty Members

Professor Emeritus
helesc@uw.edu
Professor Emerita
kaisse@uw.edu / no phone / Guggenheim 415K
Office Hours: Spring 2021 online by appointment
Professor Emeritus
jklaus@uw.edu
Research Professor Emerita
marinat@uw.edu
Karen Zagona
Professor Emerita
zagona@uw.edu / (206) 685-0979 / GUG 415-K
Office Hours: WTR 2020: Tues 1-3pm and by appointment

Adjunct Faculty Members

An Adjunct member in the Department of Linguistics is a person who holds a primary appointment in another department of the University. This appointment is intended to recognize the contributions to and mutual scholarship with the Department of Linguistics by such faculty members (e.g. serving on graduate committees, teaching cross-listed courses, collaborating on research).

Namesort descending Title Email / Phone Office
Ohta, Amy Adjunct Associate Professor aohta@uw.edu
Fernandez-Dobao, Ana Adjunct Associate Professor anadobao@uw.edu
Prat, Chantel Adjunct Associate Professor of Psychology csprat@uw.edu
Moore, Collette Adjunct Assistant Professor cvmoore@uw.edu
Stygall, Gail Adjunct Professor stygall@uw.edu
Elkhafaifi, Hussein Adjunct Associate Professor hme3@uw.edu
Bilmes, Jeffrey A. Adjunct Professor bilmes@uw.edu
Tennis, Joseph Adjunct Associate Professor jtennis@uw.edu
Dziwirek, Katarzyna A. Adjunct Professor dziwirek@uw.edu
Bilaniuk, Laada M. Adjunct Professor bilaniuk@uw.edu
Osterhout, Lee E. Adjunct Professor losterho@uw.edu
Chan, Lu Adjunct Associate Professor chanlu@uw.edu
Max, Ludo Adjunct Professor ludomax@uw.edu
Zettlemoyer, Luke Adjunct Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Engineering lsz@cs.washington.edu CSE 658
Ostendorf, Mari Adjunct Professor mo@ee.washington.edu
Smith, Maya Adjunct Assistant Professor mayaas@uw.edu
Yetisgen, Meliha Adjunct Associate Professor melihay@uw.edu
Smith, Noah A. Adjunct Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering nasmith@cs.washington.edu
Kuhl, Patricia K. Adjunct Professor pkkuhl@uw.edu
Choi, Yejin Affiliate Associate Professor yejin@cs.washington.edu
Handel, Zev Adjunct Professor zhandel@uw.edu

Affiliate Faculty Members

Namesort descending Title Email / Phone Office
Marin, Alex Affiliate Assistant Professor amarin@uw.edu
Odden, David Affiliate Professor dodden@uw.edu
Park, Eun Hae Affiliate Assistant Professor ehpark@uw.edu
Carlson, Greg Affiliate Professor Gc37@uw.edu
Hoard, James Affiliate Professor jeh20@uw.edu
Kahn, Jeremy Affiliate Assistant Professor jeremy@trochee.net
Park, Jungyeul Affiliate Assistant Professor jungyeul@uw.edu
Toutanova, Kristina Affiliate Assistant Professor
Sano, Kyoko Affiliate Assistant Professor sano@uw.edu
(425)785-5505
Remote
Tjalve, Michael Affiliate Assistant Professor mtjalve@u.washington.edu
Aoki, Paul Affiliate Assistant Professor i5no8@u.washington.edu
Culicover, Peter Affiliate Professor culicove@uw.edu
Hugo, Russell Affiliate Assistant Professor rlhugo@uw.edu
Lewis, William Affiliate Assistant Professor wlewis2@uw.edu
Song, Yan Affiliate Assistant Professor yansong@uw.edu